Help with AV and network setup for new construction

Tez40

Novice Member
My home is currently being built and I am a novice when it comes to AV and home networks, so the information I've read on these forums has been more than helpful. Here is how I envision my home AV and network setup but need some help in what I need to buy to pull it off. There will be 26 Cat6 wires run down to a basement mechanical room from various rooms, along with 24 RG6 coax. The AVR, modem, router, and satellite TV reciever will all be located in the basement. The family room, which has 3 Cat6 and 2 RG6, will have a 5.1 surround system attached to the AVR in the basement, controlled by RF to IR Universal Remote controller. The PS4 will also be in the family room since the blue tooth remotes won't work if it's down in the basement with everything else. Questions:
1) I assume I will need HDBaseT single Cat6/HDMI baluns with 3D support for both the Family Room HDTV and PS4 for this setup to work, correct? I believe this leaves me with one extra Cat6 in the Family Room to either plug into the PS4 for internet or into the TV for internet (both have wireless capability too, not sure which one to plug in to ethernet). Will this setup work? Suggestions for the HDBaseT HDMI/Cat6 baluns?
2) What other networking equipment do I need? Goal is to run gigabit... Do I need a gigabit modem, router, and switch? If a switch, how many ports will I need, does it need PoE, does it need to be managed or unmanaged? I will also need to plug in the AVR, Sonos Connect, and Satellite TV receiver located in the basement into the network as well.
3) Any suggestions for this setup or an alternate setup? Any specific brands or models of equipment that you would suggest?

Thank you in advance for any help, much appreciated!!

Joe Fernand

Distinguished Member
AVForums Sponsor
Is it just the Family room you wish to deliver HD to from the Satellite Receiver and PS4?