• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Help with AV amp/rec with sony speakers

bezza123

Standard Member
Hi

Im very new to all this AV chatter! Ive had a look around the forums but cant seem to find an answer to my question.

Basically ive got a Sony DAV-DZ260 all in one home surround system and I was going to completely replace it with a better system, I was looking at -- but as Ive just spend £800 on a new tv I think the misses is getting a bit ****** off! So I was thinking of keeping my current speakers and just replacing the AV unit is this ok to do? The sound is good enough for me at the mo the only issue ive got really is there is no control over bass and treable so sometime I have to turn the volume quite low on movies because the bass is so loud and i live in a maisonette so got neighbors above and next door!

If I can do this what suggestions would you give for a budget/starter AV amp/rec? the cheaper the better really.

Any help greatly appreciated

thanks
Wayne :thumbsup:

PSM1

Distinguished Member
Just looked at the manual and the short answer is no you can not use your current speakers with an AV reciever. This is because the speakers are only 3 ohms which is too low for an Av reciever (will put too much load on it and could damage it) and the sub is a passive one and all AV recievers need an active sub.
If you give a budget then we can suggest some alternatives. As a guide £400 should easily get you a reciever and set of speakers. Although these will be budget separates they will sound a lot better than your all in one system and also give much more control over volume/levels etc. If you list the sources you have and budget a suitable suggestion can be made.

bezza123

Standard Member
Hi