1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with Anamorphic....?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Firefox, Jul 13, 2001.

1. Firefox

Firefox

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +104
    Hi , I own a Toshiba SD100E DVD player , and a Philps 32PW9616 Widescreen tv ,
    Am i right in thinking that if I play a anamorphic dvd Film in my player it should fill the whole screen..?
    Whenever i watch a anamorphic dvd i still have black bars at the top and bottom of the picture , is this normal...?
    I have my dvd connected to my tv through RGB Scart ,
    I must admit I am fairly new to Home cinema and still dont quite understand exactly what anamorphic discs do , from the info i have read it has lead me to believe it should fill the whole screen on my tv , Am i correct in thinking this way , and if so can anyone think of any reason why the image is not being displayed full screen , I have set up the dvd player to let it know i have a Widescreen TV ,I even went out and brought a expensive scart lead , still no joy
    Thanks in advance for any help

2. Grubert

Grubert

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +72
    Let's see, what anamorphic does is basically squeeze vertically the image to maximize the information capacity of DVD. A widescren TV detects an anamorphic signal input and unsqueezes it.

But this does not imply that you will fill your screen completely. It depends on the aspect of the movie.
    A movie shot in 2.35:1 (such as The Matrix) will always have black bars at the top & bottom (but they will be smaller than in a 4:3 telly).
    A movie shot in 1.85:1 (such as Almost Famous) will fill up your widescreen TV almost completely.
    A movie shot in 1.33:1 (such as Casablanca) will have vertical black bars on the right & left sides of the image.