1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help with a converter

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Sue, Feb 26, 2004.

  1. Sue

    Sue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I purchased a Radio shack Toslink to PCM converter to hook up between my Dish Network Satelitte which has a optical output & Pioneer receiver which has a coax input. I'm not sure if this unit will allow me to hear Dolby digital or will it just allow me stereo. What is confusing me is this PMC(Pulse Code Mudulation). Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    PCM is stereo and will not carry the DD 5.1 or DTS Bitstream
     
  3. Sue

    Sue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANK YOU so much
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    are you in the USA sue???
     
  5. Sue

    Sue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, Florida
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you may have more luck over at www.avsforum.com a US site but please dont leave us as we are a friendly bunch of Brits (europeans)
     
  7. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,364
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    It will work ! That convertiwidget you bought is just changing optical digital (toslink) to electrical/coaxial digital (rca phono).

    Mike.
     
  8. Sue

    Sue
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay Thanks again
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Not if it is a PCM modulator it wont if it doesnt modulate it will work but then it wouldnt be a TOSlink to PCM converter. Unless FLimber knows of the unit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...