Question Help with 1st setup, please! 1000€ budget - small living room

PLSTR

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello! I spent the last couple of weeks reading tons of info online and watching lots of videos of people reviewing Hi-Fi products, but it keeps getting more and more confusing to make a choice.

Everyone has a different opinion about "the best budget speaker" or "the best speaker under 500€" and that's making me anxious about making this decision by myself as a complete newbie on the Hi-Fi world. Also, many recommendations are USA based and sometimes a speaker that costs 400€ in Europe costs 650$ in the USA, so they don't even "consider" it or they don't compare it to the real "competition" (the 450-500$ ones, instead of the 650$-700$). This reverse situation can also happen on some speakers that are made in the USA and that are 350$ but we can only find them for 450€.

So, after some research, I've gathered this list and the prices that I could find in my country and in Europe (outside of UK, due to brexit we started paying custom fees):
  • Dali Oberon 1 - 400€
  • Q Acoustics 3030i - 385€
  • Monitor Audio Bronze 100 - 429€
  • Wharfedale 12.2 - 470€ (12.1 also an option for a bit cheaper)
  • Wharfedale 11.2 - 500€ (11.1 also an option for a bit cheaper)
  • Triangle Borea BR03 - 400€
  • KEF Q350 - 400€
  • ELAC DEBUT B6.2 - 345€
  • ELAC Debut Reference DBR62 - 478€

I'll try to give you all a bit more insight on my specific situation:

I moved to a new home and want to build my first Hi-Fi setup with a 1000€ budget (cables + stands not included, those will be offered to me).

The living room is 16m², the ceiling height is 2,5m and this is how it looks like.