Help wiring Sky+ HD into other rooms?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Rich5ltr, Dec 31, 2011.

  1. Rich5ltr

    Rich5ltr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Thames Valley
    Ratings:
    +1
    Chaps, as a New Year's resolution - I am determined to feed my Sky HD to my bedroom & kitchen :)

    Problem is that my house is on split levels and the distance from the lounge where the Sky+ HD box is to the bedroom is about 17mtrs around the outside wall.

    If you look at the diagram below I have marked up the dish and feed cables in bright blue. I am wondering if I could split the signal out the back of my Sky box (run one HDMI to my TV) and run another long HDMI cable (e.g. 20 mtrs) round to my bedroom (the red line) then split it again at the bedroom and drop a cable down through the floor into the kitchen below?

    p.s. the lounge is at an intermediate level between the ground floor and bedrooms.

    [​IMG]

    Thoughts?

    p.s. I don't want multiroom because I just want to be able to watch the same programe in different rooms at the same time. (no kids you see) ;)
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    You present a big drawback almost from the start: "split the signal out the back of my Sky box". No HDMI signal likes being split, and when it's from a Sky machine it likes it even less. Then you come to "split it again" and that's going too far! The long HDMI cable doesn't help either, even if you could get one that long. With one split and CAT cable with baluns you might get a success for one room. A moderately expensive wireless HD sender would give the same result and save the hassle of wiring altogether. Wouldn't it be good enough though to settle for the normal method, getting the channel sent to the extension TVs from the Sky machine's RF2 Out socket, by co-ax cable or standard videosender, to show the current channel in reasonably good standard definition instead - and to get the advantage of remote control back the other way?
     
  3. Rich5ltr

    Rich5ltr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Thames Valley
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, yes I guess the RF2 out via co-ax would be okay its just that I've started to see 20mtr long HDMI cables for sale so assumed they must work reasonably well.
     
  4. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  5. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Do you have 3D TVs throughout the house?;)
     
  6. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    No just 2D for now but I have installed HDMI 1.7 cables for future proofing. :D
     
  7. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Do Russ Andrews sell HDMI 1.7 cables?
     
  8. electricseamus

    electricseamus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, he does a 0.1 metre one and he can guarantee mortgage approval to finance it. Or am I thinking about the ver2.4 modified one..
     
  9. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Priced by the millimetre no doubt. :D:clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice