1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! ( which Harmony)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by martin99, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. martin99

    martin99
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    OK guys,

    I need to control the following, Marantz CD, Pioneer amp, sky +, sony DVD, DVDO HD scan, and a Panny 42PHD6.

    AS well as myself the remote has to be wife and child friendly, I like "real" buttons, and I'm no good at progamming.

    I think I've narrowed it down to a Harmony, but which model should i go for?

    thanks

    martin
     
  2. martin99

    martin99
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +14
    I've just got a 768 from ebay for £80.. lets see how we go with that.
     
  3. RossC

    RossC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Was going to say H655 - does everything I need with real buttons and is very family/babysitter friendly... hope you find the 768 the same.
     
  4. Skip67

    Skip67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    371
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tiverton
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi, I'm looking for a similar type of remote as the author but am concerned that the remote may not utilise all my equipment. (I've never had a universal remote before, so bear with me.... :cool: )

    I have a Pioneer PDP-434HDE plasma, Arcam DV-79 DVD, Yamaha DSP-A1 AMP and a Sky+ box. I also have an old Panasonic NV-HD600 VCR.

    Will the Harmony 655 run all the functions or my amp or just the main ones ? I assume that I will still have to use the Sky remote for the Sky+ functions or is the Harmony capable of that as well ?

    Sorry to sound a bit dense but, as I said, this will be my first Universal remote purchase.

    Cheers.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,310
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    For SKY+ it has to be H655 £150 (it has coloured buttons) :D If there is enough interest i might go for a powerbuy on these bad boys......
     

Share This Page

Loading...