1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! whats this connection for??

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by cslogg, Feb 20, 2003.

  1. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    After having my Home Cinema package set up by the "engineer"from the company I bought it from I decided to have a look at the back of the units to see what went were.
    I am puzzled by the following connection and would be grateful for any advice.On the rear of my TV are three scart sockets.In Scart 2 is a scart plug with three holes in the back.Two holes are empty but in the yellow one there is what looks like a cheap phono plug with a lead that goes to Monitor Out socket on my amp.
    What does this do and is there a better way to achieve whatever it is?

    Thanks
    cslogg
     
  2. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's just taking the composite video connection and adapting it into a scart so it fits in the back of your tv. It sounds like there will be three of these coming from the back of your DVD player (yellow, white and red) the yellow one going to the TV and the white and red going to the amp. This is not the best way of hooking it all up (picture and sound will be the worst quality). Ideally a nice rgb scart to scart cable from DVD to TV and then an optical cable from DVD to Amp for sound. Without some pictures of the back of your TV, DVD and Amp that's the best I can tell you.

    Post pictures for more advice.
     
  3. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    MattDX,
    I do not have pictures at the moment but here are my connections,
    From Scart One on TV to Skybox labelled tvscart.
    From Scart two,as previous post.
    From Scart three,empty
    Component input on TV to Component output in amp.
    L+R audio to L+R audio in amp.

    Hope this makes sense

    cslogg
     
  4. mansell

    mansell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +39
    it sounds like you may have a SONY DAV package , these don't have a Scart output and in such case's the best connection open for you would be S-Video output (small round connection) to scart inpout on your TV .

    To do this you would need to buy a s-video to scart lead
     
  5. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mansell,
    I have a Toshiba TV and home cinema package.

    cslogg
     
  6. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the DVD player have:
    Scart
    S-VHS
    Optical out

    Does the Amp have:
    Optical in
     
  7. pentode

    pentode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West London, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I would guess that this is just a composite video connection from the amp to the tv to enable your amps on-screen set-up information to be be displayed. Composite video is good enough for this purpose.

    From your cabling plan, it looks like it's been set up to use RGB from the Sky box to the tv (the best option IMHO).
     
  8. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    These are the connections on the back of my amp/dvd player as its one unit.

    Woofer Out
    S-Video Out
    Component Video Out ( three sockets)
    Monitor Out
    Digital Optical Audio Input
    AM /FM input
    Video 1 in and out
    Video 2 in and out


    cslogg
     
  9. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully this attachment will be visible.
    Its of the back of my amp/dvd
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MattDX

    MattDX
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. As the DVD and amp are one unit the amp will be getting a DD5.1 / DTS signal directly from the player. Simply unplug the scart cable from the tv and then from the DVD/Amp combo. Then use the S-Video socket on the DVD/Amp and an S-VHS cable to your TV's S-VHS socket. Picture quality should be big time improved.
     
  11. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK MattDX,
    sorry about these questions but as you can tell I am not an expert at this.So you are saying I should remove the scart plug with the one lead from Scart 2 on my TV that goes to Monitor Out on my amp.Then connect up a lead with S-Video from the amp to S-VHS socket on my TV
    Two more daft questions.
    1 is S-VHS the same as S-Video ?
    2 I thought the component leads were taking the video,does this mean if I do the above these leads will be reduntant.?

    cslogg
     
  12. johnski

    johnski
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it looks like your setup is

    component from dvd to component on tv (i assume the tv is a toshiba)

    scart from sky to AV1 on tv (hopefully the sky box is set to output RGB,if not then change your sky to output RGB )

    DVD sound is handled internal to the all-in-one

    The audio out connections of the tv are routed to the all-in-one for playing the tv sound thru the all-in-one,using the tv as an audio switcher,this way if you add a vcr the sound will be routed thru the tv audio out saving cables.

    this only leaves that it must be for the osd of the all-in-one, i agree with what pentode posted earlier, i would guess to set the speaker sizes, distances etc

    to check try it, set the tv to av2 and press setup on the all-in-one remote

    johnski
     
  13. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    johnski,
    I tried what you suggested but that did not work.
    Looking through the manual there does not appear to be an osd facility to set up the speakers etc.

    cslogg
     
  14. Zef

    Zef
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    221
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +9
    Usually to get to the OSD you need the input selected as DVD.

    connections again:

    Component vid out (3 sockets) to component vid in on TV .this will be for the DVD player.

    Scart from Skybox to 1st Scart on TV

    Audio Phonos from TV to audio phonos on your dvd/amp.

    Ensure the TV has AV1 selected as the component source and AV2 as the 1st scart source.

    It may autoswitch, if not then select the relevant input.

    Whats the make and model or the package ?.
     
  15. cslogg

    cslogg
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just got off the phone to Toshiba and they say this lead is to carry video from the DVD to the TV.I must admit the picture quality is fine so it must be working OK.It just seems strange that when we are urged to use shielded this and gold plated that they stick in something that must have come from a pound shop.
    I may as well leave it alone as whatever it is it seems to work.

    cslogg
     
  16. johnski

    johnski
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    had a look at the manual on the toshiba website and as you now know its the composite video output of the hk42.you don't really need it at the moment as you will be viewing dvd's thru the component video connections.

    johnski
     

Share This Page

Loading...