help wanted with network Switches

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by godf, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. godf

    godf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
    hi i am new to networks and was wondering if anyone can help me :lease: with a problem or a question i have.

    i have a o2 wireless box in my office but i have run a cable from there down stairs to the liveing room where i have a pc and want to know if i put a network Switche on the cable downstairs ? can i run cables off there to my ps3 and the to a media center pc or 2 i have in rooms down stairs ? i like to be hard wired.

    thanks for any help you can give me :clap:

    ian
     
  2. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
  3. godf

    godf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
  4. Kristian

    Kristian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2,251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Sunny Scunny
    Ratings:
    +446
  5. godf

    godf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks for your help KrisLee if there is any other switches members think would be better i would be very happy with there sugestions. :smashin:
     
  6. beerhunter

    beerhunter
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +740
  7. ntm1275

    ntm1275
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +132
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  8. godf

    godf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
    thanks for your help and sugestions :thumbsup: ntm1275 and beerhunter

    ian
     
  9. godf

    godf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    newcastle
    Ratings:
    +5
    hi thanks everyone for your help i have just bougt 1 of these Netgear FS108PEU ProSafe™ 8 Port Switch off ebay for £5.60 new a bargin i hope :cool:

    ian
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...