1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help understanding settings like ISO

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Greamec, Feb 27, 2005.

  1. Greamec

    Greamec
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    S.E. England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would I be right in saying that as a genral rule of thumb, the more light you have for a shot the lower the ISO ie:

    1. bright sunlight ISO = 80

    2. indoor shot at night under electric light ISO = 400.

    I am working out the best setting for my new Panasonic FZ3

    Thanks in advance

    Greame
     
  2. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Low ISO = Best quality
    High ISO = more 'noise' or grain in pics

    Always use the lowset ISO you can, dependant on shutter/aperature settings..
    For example, to use a really fast shutter speed to capture a fast moving object in poor light..ie very overcast or dusk, you might need to bump the ISO up a bit

    regards
     
  3. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/glossary All the info you need. Compacts like yours can be pretty noisy at high iso's

    If you like shooting indoors using available light (no flash) then you're going to need to set the aperture 2.8 that lets in twice the amont of light then f4

    High iso's (by compact standards) and noise on compacts is something that always made me grind my teeth.
     
  4. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    is 400 classed as high ISO or do we class it as "not nearly high enough"
     
  5. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh for us two jamie iso's not too much a problem with our beauties:laugh: I dont see any noise at 800 got a few shots at 1600 and they're better then any compact i had at iso 400

    The 50mm F1.4 or the 85 F1.8 would be so perfect for your band shots.

    (on topic as its about shooting in availble light)
     
  6. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    yep, i tend to use iso 1600, theres less noise than my old olympus at iso400

    i actually need to go shorted.was thinking of somethings shorter than 50mm, just to get a better frame in the tight confines of a photo pit

    taken at iso 1600
    http://www.whitewashimages.co.uk/pics/newcam/failsafe.jpg
     
  7. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
  8. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Some reason your pages won't open for me jamie of late.
     
  9. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22

    yeh for some reason it doesnt like redirecting from here at the moment

    copy and paste the link

    the internet is gay, FACT!
     
  10. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah it worked, nice shot jamie. I think the 50mm1.8 at around £60 would be a great buy for you mate. Whats thew score with your shots at the mo? Got to the charging stage yet?
     
  11. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    im using the canon 50mm 1.8 at the mo, excellent lense for the money.


    im working on some form of charging bands for images, they dont get given anything bigger than a 600x400 images which is useless for anything but websites.


    gonna get some money of a few bands that want to do photoshoots tho.


    anyone else having problems with the boards at the moment? the background and framing has disappeared
     
  12. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    The pages are taking an age to load. So the shot you just shown me jamie, what's the exif?
     
  13. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    Manufacturer: Canon
    Camera: Canon EOS 20D
    Firmware: Firmware 1.1.0
    Date: 25.02.2005 at 22:11:21
    Aperture: f 5.0
    ISO: 1600
    Shutter speed: 1/400 s
    EV +0.67 EV
    Program: P - Programmed auto
    Metering mode: Multisegment
    Flash: Not fired, Compulsory flash light
    White balance: -- (9)
    Zoom: 50.0 mm Real
    Resolution: 3504 x 2336 Pixel (Large)
    Picture density: 72 x 72 dpi
    Macro mode: Normal/Off
    File size: 3284522 Bytes
    Flash:: Not fired, Compulsory flash light
    Orientation: 270° / Z:left S:Bottom
    Date last Modification: 25.02.2005 at 22:11:21
    YCbCr Positioning: Zero point
    EXIF Version: V 2.21
    Date Digitized: 25.02.2005 at 22:11:21
    FlashPix Version: V 1.00
    CCD Resolution: 3959 x 3959 dpi
    Comment:
    Custom rendered: Normal process
    Exposure mode I: Auto exposure
    White balance I: Manual white balance
    Scene capture type: Standard
    Macro Mode II: Normal/Off
    Selftimer in sec: None
    Compression rate: Fine
    Flash Mode: No flash
    Continious Drive Mode: On
    Focus Mode: AI Focus
    Image Size: Large
    Easy Shooting Mode: Manual
    Contrast II: High
    Saturation II: High
    Sharpness II: High
    ISO Setting II: -- (255)
    Metering Mode II: Normal
    AF Point selected: -- (0)
    Exposure Mode II: Programmed auto
    Long Focal Length: 50.0 mm
    Short Focal Length: 50.0 mm
    Focus Mode II: Single
    White Balance II: -- (9)
    Sequence Number:
    Flash Bias: -2,00 EV
    Subject Distance II: 0.000 m / 0.00 m
    Image Type: Canon EOS 20D
    Firmware Version: Firmware 1.1.0
    Owner Name: unknown     ( 
    Digital Zoom: Off
    Long Exposure noise reduction: Off
    Shutter/AE-Lock Buttons: AF/AE lock
    Mirror Lockup: Off
    Tv/Av EV-step: 1/2 stop
    AF-assist Light: On (Auto)
    Av Shutter Speed: Automatic
    AEB Sequence: 0 - + on
    Shutter Curtain: 1. curtain sync.
    AF Stop Button: AF stop
    Auto Reduction of fill Flash: On
    Menu Button return Position: Previous (volatile)
    SET button func when shooting: Not assigned (0)
    Sensor Cleaning: Off



    what a load of useless info :boring:
     
  14. Greamec

    Greamec
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    S.E. England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the link, just what I needed, as for the rest I think it flew over my head. Have to ask though is high ISO better then if your camera isn't to noisey like mine? If it is why?

    Regards Greame

    update: why would you want to use high ISO if it makes your pictures noisy?
     
  15. mr jones

    mr jones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    (S)cumbria, UK
    Ratings:
    +22
    you want to use the lowest possible ISO required to get the picture you require

    if your familiar with film cameras and film then ISO is the sensitivity of the film to light, high ISO films, 800, 1600 etc are brilliant for the kind of work i do, very little light but lots of movement so i have to use fast shutter speeds, using iso 100 would be completely futile for me.


    plus sometimes, just sometimes noise can look really really good and add to the image.

    cheaper cameras (compacts etc) just simple dont act well at high iso's most compacts go to 400-800 but the noise becomes aparent, whereas on a DSLR like the ones me and seany use the hardware and firmware is much much better (hence the price tag) and they seem less susceptable to noise, they still do get noisy, but due to it being a much better camera less grain effect is apparent.


    the first image, the green one, was taken with a midrange compact olympus camera, at iso 400, the second one is at exactly the same location,lighting etc, taken with a canon20D at iso 1600 as you can see the canon dispite having an iso rating 4x higher than the canon produces a much less noisy image, simple due to the fact that the canon is a much better spec'ed camera, the hardware/lense/CCD are all much better
     

    Attached Files:

  16. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you increase the aperture jamie you wont need the 1600 iso. Not trying to teach you how to suck eggs matey. Better to use a larger aperture if you can use it. My kit lens is only F4:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...