Help! TV cable

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Bekka1988, May 9, 2016.

  1. Bekka1988

    Bekka1988
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Just moved into a property which has a screw in cable
    How can I connect a normal ariel to this?
    Someone said I can get an adapter that you put onto the normal cable and then connect.
    Does anyone know what this is called??
    Many Thanks
     
  2. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Do you have a picture, what is the cable attached to, and do you know that the cable definitely goes to an aerial not a satellite dish ?
     
  3. Bekka1988

    Bekka1988
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's a little box on the wall an.d NTL one.
    Unfortunately had sky out but can't get signal because of huge trees in garden!!

    He said can buy adapter just don't know what they are called
     
  4. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Any you definitely have an aerial thats connected to it ?

    If so then probably F Type to Coax Aerial

    F Plug to Coax Socket
     
  5. Bekka1988

    Bekka1988
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes definitely
     
  6. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,901
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +863
    NTL: is the old trading name for Virgin Cable Television...

    So AFAIK it won't provide you with any usable signals unless you get a box from them and subscribe. In the good old days the analogue 1 to 5 channels were provided on their cable foc but now everthing is digital...

    You may need to get a terrestrial aerial installed?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice