1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP!! Trying to spec a suitable Graphics Card?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dealmaker, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys,

    I want to upgrade my machine with a better graphics card to take advantage of the DVI input on my monitor (and to get better performance).

    The spec I'm looking for is:

    128Mb (at least)

    DVI Output

    and it must fit my Dell Optiplex Small Form PC - so I guess it needs to be "Low PRofile"


    When I interrogate the current Graphics card it says it's an AGP4X (Rage 16mb)- and I know many of the full size machines take an AGP8 - so will an AGP 8 graphics card fit in my Dell or not?

    Can anyone please recommend a suitable, and available, Graphics Card that fulfills these requirements?

    Thanks
     
  2. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    A card capable of running at 8x will work in any machine, if the motherboard can only run at 4x then the card will happily run at 4x.

    'Faid off the top of my head I'm not aware of any low-profile cards with DVI as usually they're PCB-mounted and are a second output in addition to a standard VGA (or even second DVI), thus the card itself is full-height.
     
  3. watersa@ntlworl

    watersa@ntlworl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Biospace iDEC SFF PC & it takes any graphics card so long as you don't want to customize the cooling fan? The SFF motherboard is mounted on the floor of the 7" high unit so no problem with card height. Unless yours is the ULTRA SFF I wouldn't think you'd have a problem? usually an AGP slot is only provided if it will accomodate a card.
    I got the ATi Sapphire 9800 pro for £140
     
  4. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    The Dell also has the motherboard mounted on the "floor" - but it is only 4.25" high in AGP direction - so a full size card won't fit.

    Thanks
     
  5. sniffer66

    sniffer66
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    9,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,307
    Thats weird - I was about to make exactly the same post !!


    I have sourced a Dell GX260 VERY cheaply. Ive got a Gig of ram and its a 2.8 ghz proc. I've installed my sweetspot and Xcard but my Gforce AGP card is about 2" too deep !

    Ideally I'd be looking at an ATI Radeon 9600 but all the ones I can find look to be standard depth !

    Help also please


    PS Dell do a 9700 Ati card on their site for £91 that deffo fits but I was hoping for a cheaper solution !
     
  6. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1

    Sniffer,

    I guess theres good and bad about this machine!

    Does the Dell card have DVI output?

    Got a link to that card??

    I'm going to keep loking as well.
     
  7. sniffer66

    sniffer66
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    9,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,307
    Try this - link should take you to all the DELL site Vidcards. Looks like theres a Gforce 128 Mb card for £100 as well

    Both the Radeon and the Gforce have pics that show they will fit the case. Does look like the reduced height means DVI via a VGA adapter ordered seperately though :(


    If you order one please let me know how you get on with it

    Thanks


    http://accessories.euro.dell.com/sn...k&l=en&cs=ukbsdt1&category_id=6171&first=true
     
  8. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1


    Hard to tell if they have a VGA output or a DVI output from the photo's? Don't think I would bother if thay are just VGA output.

    I know for a fact that other cards exist with DVI.

    I'll keep looking.
     
  9. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1

Share This Page

Loading...