help! trying to connect JVC DMR10 to samsung IDTV

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by derry3d, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. derry3d

    derry3d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help wanted please

    my JVC cannot detect any of the freeview channels only the analogue channels. JVC have told me to hook up to scart L2, but the TV cannot see the DVD recorder. Any suggestions really welcome :lease:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Samsung will have a scart that outputs FV signal this is the one to connect to AV2 on JVC you may want to then connect AV1 from JVC to another scart on TV See connecting a recorder bit in Samsung manual :rtfm:
     
  3. JohnW14

    JohnW14
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you mean the JVC will not automatically tune in the freeview channels to itself when running the auto-tune? If so then, AFAIK, it doesn't because it cannot.

    Firstly AV1 is the Smartlink capable Scart (In/Out) whereas AV2 is In only.

    Whichever you chose (and unless you use component out I suspect it should be AV1) once connected to the IDTV if you press the channel up/down button, the internal JVC tuner goes from channel numbers 1 to 5 (for example) to AV1, AV2, FR1 and DV. Put the JVC on whichever Scart you chose to use and start recording!

    FYI, I could not get Smartlink to work with my Toshiba ZT29 and now must set timers on both the IDTV and the JVC. Right old pain in my opinion (but there are posts out there who dislike Smartlink due to poor timekeeping of braodcasters.)
     
  4. derry3d

    derry3d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what does AFAIK stand for? sorry new to this?

    the auto tune only picks up 1-5 and no freeview channels.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    thats cause the JVC has an analogue tuner not a digital one..............................
     

Share This Page

Loading...