1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - The pied PTAE100 of Hamelin

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by spicy_fajita, Mar 6, 2003.

1. spicy_fajita

spicy_fajita

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, total newbie to projectors and the forum.

The Panasonic PTAE100 seems to be like the pied piper of Hamelin attracting people to the world of projectors and after seeing it in operation at my local home cinema shop, I too have fallen under its spell.

I have pretty much convinced myself of buying one and thanks to everyone on the forum as this has provided me with a lot of information, but I have a few more questions.

1. Getting screen later and was thinking initially to buy an AO sheet of paper/card or use a painted wall. Is this ok for a while or should I invest in a screen initially. Also, what screen works well with the PTAE100.

2. What sort of lighting can you watch a movie comfortably in. At the demo I was impressed that it was not pitch black in the room but I may have just been blown away by the big picture. In a cream coloured room, how dark on the lights do you have to go.

3. What sort of image size can I expect that will give an acceptable picture quality.

4. Seems to be that progressive scan and component video are the way to go so I'm going to buy a new DVD player as well. Does progressive scan only work on some DVDs or are there players which will ouput it with R2 DVDs. Can anyone suggest a cheapish DVD player that will do this.

Cheers for any information anyone can provide.

2. theritz

theritz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi spicy_fajita,

Welcome to the forum :hiya:

Not sure if I can answer all of your questions, but this'll be a start anyway: