1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Sony KV29 F1U

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Lloyd George, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. Lloyd George

    Lloyd George
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I have a 7 year old Sony KV29 F1U that until 30 mins ago worked without any problems.

    The unit always took about 10 seconds after pressing the power button on to spring into life.

    Now when I press the power button the unit makes its customery "Phert" noise but the screen remains blank (black with no green channel numbers, as it used to display on start up before the picture arrived). Also, there is no sound.

    When the unit was working, the red power light came on for a second during start up then went out immediately. Now the red light keeps flashing.

    Tried turning the power off and all the noddy solutions, but no joy. When tried to start up again there where a few very thin (string like) lines at the top 5% of the screem mostly white but a few coloured red, green etc.

    Any ideas of what could be the problem, and the cost of fixing.

    Many thanks

    Lloyd :(
     
  2. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Lloyd,

    Welcome to the forums!

    You need to count the sequence of the LED flashes - it gives a fault code.

    Sounds very much like the frame IC to me though.

    Cost to repair? - Anywhere between £60 - £90 depending on the labour charge. The chip's around a tenner.

    Not an easy DIY job either I'm afraid.

    Hope this helps.

    A. Dork
     
  3. Lloyd George

    Lloyd George
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arthur,

    Thanks for the reply.
    The TV power on light come on normally when first powering up the unit for only a few seconds then goes out.

    Soon after going out, the red light flashes twice, then goes out.

    The cycle then continues indefinately two flashes and a temporary pause.

    Any idea what this fault code means, and what is likely to be the cause? Given this code, and the likely problems how much would it cost to fix?
    Is this a common problem with the KV29 F1U model, is 7 years a good life for the machine? Would you scrap it or repair?

    Again, many thanks for the reply.

    Lloyd :rolleyes:
     
  4. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Frame IC. Pretty certain. Common fault. Cost as above.

    Good old sets, should do another 7 years!

    A. Dork
     
  5. Lloyd George

    Lloyd George
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Arthur,

    Really appreciate your advice.

    Thank you and best regards.

    Lloyd :smashin:
     
  6. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    You're very welcome.

    Nice to see we have some people with manners on here.

    A. Dork
     
  7. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    I posted the Sony fault codes on a thread some time ago, i'll see if i can dig them up or post the thread link to them latter.
     
  8. Grimley

    Grimley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Deepest, Darkest Essex, so BEWARE!
    Ratings:
    +82
    I sold a fair amount of that model TV when I was in TV retail many moons ago, not the most reliable of TV's IIRC (most of them sold came back faulty) I'm surprised there are any still around that work :devil:
     
  9. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,365
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +323
    Agreed, they weren't the most reliable Sony ever made but there's still quite a few out there giving good service. Owners always seem reluctant to get rid.

    They're usually an easy repair when they do go wrong too.

    A. Dork
     
  10. jock

    jock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll find the blinking codes here. http://www.iwaynet.net/~nesda/SonyBlink.html
    My kv-32fx66 is blinking three times. I've called in an engineer and I bet it'll be something expensive. Pity I don't live next door to Arthur :)
     
  11. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,739
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    So where do you live?
     
  12. jock

    jock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once upon a time in Aberdeen but now I'm from Epsom - a teuchter in exile! :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...