1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help -Sony DAVS550 - problems skipping / freezing DVDs?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by NeilTh, Jan 23, 2005.

  1. NeilTh

    NeilTh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    as the title says really - had the unit about 18 months and it sticks and freezes several times on many of our DVD's - rental and purchased copies, including brand new discs.

    Tried the disc cleaner (HAMA) - not resolved it.

    Can anyone recommend either a good mail order repair service or a decent replacement for the 550?


    thanks

    Neil
     
  2. mjr600

    mjr600
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine's the same, bought it in August 2003, out of warranty now, I'm looking for a one new one box but without the speakers.
     
  3. shyewei

    shyewei
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,787
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +147
    This seems to be a common problem with the 550. Had exactly the same thing myself. Fortunatley bought the extended warranty with Richer Sounds so took it into them to sort out - only took them 3 months :laugh:
     
  4. NeilTh

    NeilTh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    trid calibrating the laset via the engineers menu today (this sorts most of them out apparently) but no luck with mine.

    Anyone want to buy a 550? excellent working order ;)


    Neil
     
  5. mjr600

    mjr600
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Neil what did you do to get to the engineers menu ?
     
  6. davet010

    davet010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Seems to be a common problem. Happened to mine after about 18 months as well - repair guy said new assemblies are about £100-150, so gave that idea up.

    Bought a DHT-500, which is much nicer..
     
  7. scooby do

    scooby do
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +37
    NeilTh, I to would like to know how to get into the calibration menu and how to do it
     
  8. NeilTh

    NeilTh
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    on the DAVS550 hold HOLD STOP + DISPLAY + TURNING VOLUME KNOB TO THE RIGHT.

    You now get the engineering menu up

    You need 2 discs - 1 single layer, the other double.

    Follow the onscreen menu (I think its menu option 1) and choose DVD SL then DVD DL (single layer then dual layer)

    Exit form the menu

    As I say, didnt work for me

    Neil
     
  9. enricokael2005

    enricokael2005
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Exactly same thing happened on my Sony SR2 home system.

    And it was 4 months old. It was under waranty so I got it
    fixed at Sony's repair shop. But it took 35 days...

    It's working...for now.

    They've changed the lens.
     
  10. thewul

    thewul
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    adjusting the laser settings will not help, if the laser is low in emission you need a new laser. the 550 may need a modification to do with the 3.3v line which is not as expensive as a replacement laser. ring your local sony service agent
     
  11. mjr600

    mjr600
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to raise this thread again but the damn thing seems to have finally spun its last disk.

    Before I go and spend some more cash :-( I've a couple of questions someone here may be able to help with.

    If I bought a cheap DVD player with optical digital out could I run the picture into the the optical digital in on the Sony ? If so I guess the picture would make it to the TV via the S Video out from the Sony to the TV ?
    (The manual says the optical jack is for digital satellite input)

    I would do this if there was some way to utilise the Dolby Digital-DTS decoding on the built in amp. Would the audio in on this deck pick up a 5.1 stream from the new DVD player, decode it and send it out to the speakers or would it be in normal stereo.

    The manual isn't much help on this front.

    If all else fails can anyone suggest a reasonably priced all in one, having wired the Sony speakers under a new floor I'll probably use these with a new all in one system so wont need the speakers with the new system.

    Thanks
     
  12. Yak

    Yak
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    mj

    I tried this last week with my PS2 and it works. If you connect the dvd player to the optical in on the 550 and select video2 input you do get DTS or Dolby surround sound. I would connect the dvd staight to the telly for video tho, because the 550 only outputs a composite signal from external sources

    Hope this helps

    Yak
     

Share This Page

Loading...