1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help: sky+ popping sound through speakers

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by darren7, Dec 30, 2002.

  1. darren7

    darren7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just setup my sky+.

    every now and then there is a crackling sound thhrough the speakers, it is going through the usual route re:decent scart and RGB into ext1 RGB, on a Philips 32".

    this tv has never had any sound problems before and I have tried all the sound modes on the TV.

    is the box faulty? any views.

    D
     
  2. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Try these.....

    Turn down the digibox audio output volume.
    Make sure the scart cable is making good contact.
    Replace the scart cable with another.
    Try connecting using a different method, RF or composite.

    Take the audio from the digibox direct to an amp using the optical or twin phonos.
     
  3. purple52

    purple52
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you manage to isolate the problem yet?

    My TV (a Loewe Aconda) is doing a similar thing.

    I didn't get around to unplugging things to isolate the problem, but the noise continued even when tuned to terrestrial channels with the Sky+ on stand-by. After a while, the TV blew a fuse and had to be repaired. I therefore assumed it was a fault on the TV.

    Since being repaired, however, the problem has returned, but not as bad as it was before.
     
  4. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I am getting this as well. It started a few days back. I have no connection to a TV just to my amplifier and video to the projector.

    I thought it was down to some broadcast problems as it did sound like the digital artifacts you can get.

    Cheers,

    Jean-paul
     
  5. eddiewww

    eddiewww
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Blackheath, SE London
    Ratings:
    +134
    seems a common problem...

    how is the audio connected..fibre or analogue ?

    i have had a crackling noise like electric discharge...but since i have changed from fibre to analogue it seems to have been reduced.

    eddie.........
     
  6. dejongj

    dejongj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am connected analogue only as I do like the digital on music channels and no normal broadcasts are in 5.1 anyway....

    Cheers,

    JP
     
  7. common

    common
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Messages:
    1,384
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've just started getting this also - i'm using optical only.

    just a guess but has anyone else recently manually upoaded the new software for instant rewind ? could this be the link ?
     
  8. MatC

    MatC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used to get this problem with my Philips 32" TV. I called the shop I bought it from and they sent an engineer who soldered some resistors (might have been caps)into the feed on the Scart inputs. This seemed to clear the fault to a degree, with just the occasional popping noise. I have since gone into the services menu on my sky box and turned down the volume, and this has cured the problem totally.

    Hope this helps.

    Mat
     
  9. Eakley

    Eakley
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this. I've got the same problem so will see if it cures mine.
     
  10. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    I have this problem too - I'm connected via optical. I've tried turning down the volume, but it's not made any difference. ANyone got any other suggestions?
     
  11. purple52

    purple52
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've still not worked out exactly what's causing mine; I wonder if we're all actaully suffering from the same problem or not?

    Latest development; I finally plugged my Sky+ into my amp (phono lead, not optical) and found that with the TV muted, I still get the crackling noise, but through the TV speakers and not through the amp...

    I'm going to try removing the scart completely next, and seeing what happens just using an aerial lead.

    David
     
  12. Karma

    Karma
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +11
    Interesting. I have suffered this for a long while. I always put it down to over load at theSky end. ie it is what happens when they over load the audio by recording it too loud. Digital sound doesn't run gently into distortion like analogue.

    The reason I got Sky+ was because of the digital 5.1 output but won't now connect it to my home cinema system because of this problem. I don't want to squarewave my speakers. No Sir!!

    I'd be interested in seeing the solutions.

    BTW can anyone remind me how to get into the engineers menu on the digibox.

    Thanks
     
  13. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Any more info. on this? It's getting really annoying. It only seems to happen on playback - I get a "pop" about once every minute.
     
  14. purple52

    purple52
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    CJ,

    I think my problem might actually be the TV rather than the Sky+ box. I tried unplugging Sky+ completely, and just leaving my aerial cable in. I still got the occassional pop, but it was less than 5% as bad as it had been.

    On Sky, it seems to happen more when watching certain programs, so I suspect that it is related to either video or audio levels/peaks. Perhaps there is an issue with the levels output by the Sky+ box, and some TVs are more effected by it than others?

    David
     
  15. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Thanks David,

    mine's connected to a TagAV32 (via optical) and not to a TV. I have a number of inputs connected including two other Sky boxes (not Sky+) via two TiVos, and I don't hear the popping on any other source optical or not. I guess I could try the Sky+ box via phonos.

    I'm fairly certain I only hear the popping on Sky+ playback.
     

Share This Page

Loading...