help setting up system

ellpeg1

Standard Member
:lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease:

i am sure you all have read a similar post many a time but please dont ignore it i need help
i am completely new to this, i need help on this set up and what cables i need many thanks go easy and explain all in idiot monosyballic form

the hardware involved is denon avr 1707 with denon dvd 2910 with kef eggs 2005.2 and sub woofer, tv is a toshiba 37wlt with 2 hdmi connections and sky+box

what cables do need?
how do i connect for best performance?
if i buy speaker cable do i need connectors?
does the speaker cables need terminated?
do i need an optical cable etc
intending to buy 25metres of 1.5mm vandamme blue
what else do i need?

the system will be used to play mostly dvds
is it worth upgrading to a sky hdd box?
will i get 5.1 sound from my sky+ box help
many thanks in advance

please help as missus is doing my head in after buying all this and still not connected

:lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease::lease:

berkeley384

I am completely new to this, i need help on this set up and what cables i need many thanks go easy and explain all in idiot monosyballic form

denon avr 1707
denon dvd 2910
Kef Eggs & 2005.2 and sub woofer,
toshiba 37wlt
sky+box

what cables do need? How do i connect for best performance?

You need ...

1* Optical cable for Audio for Sky+
1*Scart Lead for Picture for Sky+
1*Optical Cable for Audio for DVD Player
1*HDMI lead for Picture for DVD Player
1*Shielded Single Phono (RCA) cable for the subwoofer

Sky

Connect Optical lead from optical out socket on sky box to optical in on the Denon amp, remember which optical in on the amp you have chosen as you will have to assign it to the relevent input option on the Amp - E.G. Optical 1 = TV - Go into sky audio settings on the sky box and set Optical Audio to Dolby Digital.

Connect Scart lead from back of Sky+ box to back of Toshiba TV

DVD