Help setting up home theatre system for my PC

kuruairu

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm trying to set up my multimedia room in such a way that I'm not sure is possible. So I'd like some help and suggestions.

I want to set up my room in such a way that when I game on my PC, it outputs the sound in 7.1.4 surround system, but when I'm not gaming, switch to 2.1ch stereo sound.

It sounds simple, as it looks like I only need to change the sound settings on my PC from surround to 2ch, but the issue is, my PC desk is placed on the sidewall, perpendicular to the TV and the 7.1.4 speaker setup. The PC is placed between the right surround speaker, and the right surround back speaker (I'm attaching a diagram below). So if I just switch the sound on my PC to 2ch stereo, all the sound will come from my two "front" speakers to my left.

5DHdQlo.png

So far I could think of two methods using multizones, but I'm new to AVRs so whats on my mind might not actually work:

1) set "zone 1" to 7.1.4 setup, and "zone 2" would be my two right-sided surround speakers as stereo speakers, so my R. surround speaker would act as zone2 front left speaker, and my original R. back surround speaker would act as zone2 front right speaker.

Screenshot 2022-02-08 012425.png

2) or another option would be to set it up so my two back surround speakers act as my zone2 front speakers, and every time I have to physically move them between my desk when using them as zone 2, and return them to their original position when I want to play something in surround sound.

That's all assuming I can use the same speaker for two zones.

-------------------------

I use my PC for almost everything, from working on it from home to listening to music, and playing videogames, the only other console I have is a Nintendo switch. That's why it's important to me to have two speakers for my everyday PC use.

My PC is connected to two 27" monitors and one 4K OLED TV on the sidewall.