Help Setting up a Sub

H

HaydnF

Hi all. This is my first post to AVForums so be gentle. Sorry for the length..

Basically, I recently bought some speakers (M-Audio Studiophile AV30s for anybody that cares) solely for listening to music from my laptop. Yet more recently, I've been thinking about buying a sub to extend my aural pleasure. I have my mind set on the EPOS ELS since it seems to have decent reviews (from what I've been able to find, anyway) and a pretty low frequency response for the price, at 20hz.

I've gotta say, I'm new to this game and crossovers, amps, phase, high/low filters, octaves, db roll offs and the rest of it is giving me a bit of a headache. I understand them, but not brilliantly. Basically, what I want to know is, can I buy this sub and seamlessly integrate it with my existing speakers, without any extra hardware (amps/crossover)?

I read the sub manual (http://www.epos-acoustics.com/downloads/instructions/els_sub.pdf) but I'm still a bit confused.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but from what I gather.. I don't need an amp (or do I?) or crossover, and I can just go right ahead and use a 3.55mm to 2x RCA cable to input sound from my laptop's headphone jack into the "high level inputs" on the sub (like I'm currently doing for the speakers), fiddle with the low and high filters and use another 2x RCA cable to 2x RCA cable from the "high level output" on the sub to the input on my speakers?

I'm just a bit concerned whether I'm missing something and I would end up blow the speakers/sub or just end up with a non-functioning set up. I feel stupid asking if I'm correct, but I'd feel even more stupid with a £200 ornament.

Thanks in advance.

P.S. I realise the headphone jack isn't a great quality output but it's what I got. Seems alright to me, a slight hum but its really not very noticeable.

ChrisAV

Hi, and welcome to AVforums.