1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Scart ,RGB ,Component ?

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by WhiteTigerK, Jan 16, 2004.

1. WhiteTigerK

WhiteTigerK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

I have a big problem. I'm quite new in the home cinema thing, and I want to know some things. first, I know that there is a thing called Component Video. I know it has 3 socket (Red, Green, Blue) but at this point I lost myself - I've heard that there are 2 types of Component Video -

1) Component RGB
    2) Component YUV

Now, I red that those 2 Component types is total different from each other and i wanted to know why is that and what is the different ?

I bought a Toshiba 29VH27F TV and it has 3 Scarts in the back :

1) Regular Scart
    2) Scart with AV / S-VHS Support
    3) Scart with AV / RGB Support

Now, if I have a DVD Player and I want to connect it to the TV, i should connect it with a SCART TO SCART cable that can deliver RGB signals ? or I can use COMPONENT TO SCART cable and then connect it from the COMPONENT Output in my DVD Player to the Scart AV / RGB Support Input in my TV ???

Anoter thing - if I'll buy an audio/video receiver that has S-Video output and i will connect a DVD Player to the reveiver to the TV like that :

1) Component Cable FROM the DVD Player TO the receiver
    2) S-Video & 2 RCA (For Audio) FROM the receiver TO the TV

will I be losing lot of picture quality due the Component use in the DVD TO RECEIVER connect and S-VIDEO use in the RECEIVER TO TV connect ???

thank you very much and I'm sorry if my English is not that good...

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The Toshiba television will not accept a component input so you should connect the dvd player to the television using a scart cable to the socket on the television that takes RGB