HELP ! S-video and widescreen TV

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Gary Palmer, Mar 28, 2001.

  1. Gary Palmer

    Gary Palmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    I switched from RGB SCART to S-video SCART on my Philips Cool Green Widescreen (so I can switch sources more easily via my processor).

    Trouble is that now the widescreen modes don't switch. I think SCART has a way of telling the TV what format the image is so the TV selects the correct mode.

    Selecting Automatic just doesn't work with S-video - I keep having to force the correct aspect ratio - a real pain when channel surfing on Sky...

    Is there a solution or do I go back to RGB and loose the convenience ???

    [​IMG]

    [This message has been edited by Gary Palmer (edited 28-03-2001).]
     
  2. delta

    delta
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure pin 8 in the S-VHS scart at the source end is connected, it sends the signal for switching.
     
  3. clone

    clone
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the signal for widescreen switching sent from a S-Video output ?

    Just wondering in case i try S-video.
     
  4. delta

    delta
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    North East Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is sent from Scart only whether or not the Scart is configured for S-VHS.
     
  5. Gary Palmer

    Gary Palmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    333
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmmm

    Thanks Delta. Pin8 is the important bit RBG or S-video.

    Trouble is the processor does not have SCART inputs (non of them do) so I can't route pin8 of a SCART through the processor.

    I'm screwed ; aka I have to spend more money.. ;-)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice