1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help re rptv new to this

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by critch, Sep 29, 2004.

1. critch

critch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello guys :hiya:
    i am new to this, well only just registered :clap:
    but have been looking over the comments for about 3 months now and very confused and worried i was gonna spend about £900.00 on a rptv a toshiba 42 wh36 or 46
    :eek: but i have read alot of negative comments
    about these re the color and having to get people out to tune them, i dont really want to pay extra to have to get some one to come out (we the missues wont)

are they really worth it and if so what am i better getting
    or am i better off with a 36 inch tv

as i want a bigger tv in the lounge :lease: help me

2. Tight Git

Tight Git

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +597
    Critch,

Welcome to the Forum. :)

Yes, it is confusing, especially when you get conflicting advice!

My personal opinion is to go for a 36" CRT set, as the RP system just cannot compete in terms of brightness, sharpness and viewing angle.

There is also the factor of tube life if it is your main TV.

Having said that, I bet the next post will say exactly the opposite! :devil:

Perhaps your best bet is to find a good dealer (you'll see John Lewis is highly praised on the Forum) and see the comparisons for yourself.

After all, only you will know what's right for you. :lesson:

Good luck! :thumbsup:

3. pipcat

pipcat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Critch - also welcome!

Not to confuse you any more I hope...(!), but ask yourself a couple of other questions. Your answers make help you focus on what is really important to you.

- Do you watch mainly films (DVDs) or TV? I.e. are you more likely to want a 16:9 or 4:3 format TV?