1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help:radeon 9800 XT low 3dmark03 score

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Mr.D, Apr 26, 2004.

  1. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    Recently installed a saphire radeon 9800XT 256M.

    machine spec is:

    P4 2.4 (533fsb version)

    Asus P4G8X mobo.

    1Gb ram ( forget what type but its tow banks of 512 for dual addressability).

    120Gb WD caviar 8m cache 7200rpm.

    Os is W2k sp4 ( totally up to date)

    driver is cat 4.4


    I've been playing Far Cry with this and to be honest I hadn't noticed a problem . everything maxed out at 1280x1024 still gave good frame rates 99% of the time.

    I ran 3dmark03 on it the other night and got 3121 points which frankly sucks. Then I tweaked down certain settings for the default benchmark as advised by futuremark and got minimal improvement.

    Now the card seems to have become unstable slightly ( with Far Cry causing a reboot occasionally : have my suspicions its Far Cry actually)

    Why the low score? Is it W2K?
    Also I totally disregarded hooking up the additional power molex through the HD using the splitter cable provided : I couldn't see the point as I had plenty of spare power runs. Was this a mistake? ( can't possibly see why ).

    The machine is getting on a bit but its still a reasonable spec even these days.

    x8 AGP USWC and fastwrites are enable : aperturew is 256M. can't think ofanything else. Machine is pretty sweet and solid apart from the low 3dmark03 score.


    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,793
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,108
    Win 2K is most probably hurting it a little bit, do you have the latest mobo drivers? This can cause some problems.

    Also are the card drivers set to AA and AF being application chosen? You might have these set to on, which would lower the score substantially.
     
  3. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +265
    To get an accurate score for 3dmark2003 you have to set the slider to max performance (furthest left). My specs are xp2700+, 1024mb pc2700ddr, radeon 9700pro all at stock and I get a score of around 5000 marks. (with balanced i get around 3500 marks)
    It doesn't matter which power splitter you use as long as you have it connected.
    I'd run dxdiag to make sure you have no issues and make sure you've got the most up to date dx9b and cat4.4 drivers installed.
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    Everything checks out ./ I'll retry the test with the performance settings.
     
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    5212!

    Many thanks.
     
  6. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,442
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +265
    looking good:thumbsup:
     
  7. srbwilson

    srbwilson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    292
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +0
    fastwrites have been known to cause stability probs, if you get more crashes turn them off.
     
  8. chicken balti

    chicken balti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totally agree. Especially on ATI hardware and especially if you are running tweak software or are ocing the card in any way.
     
  9. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,150
    fast writes on/off didn't make any difference. The problem is Far Cry I think.
    Loading my last saved position on any of the levels after the treehouse causes a reboot.

    Load the previous save and its fine. Then load the latest save and it works fine.
     
  10. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Hawklord - I've been doing a bit of research and am looking at possibly upgrading my graphics card either now or in a few months. I'm trying to get an idea of just how bad my gfx card is. ;) What did you mean by "To get an accurate score for 3dmark2003 you have to set the slider to max performance (furthest left)." Whereabouts is this setting? Is it in the ATI driver or within 3D Mark 03?

    Cheers,
     
  11. sweetmate

    sweetmate
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    695
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +46
    in the ATI driver.

    Display Properties -> Settings -> Advanced -> 3D
     
  12. Andy.T

    Andy.T
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +73
    Ahhh, k thx. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...