1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Purchased PW7 from AV Sales got some probs

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by andy970, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. andy970

    andy970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    First time post long time reader.....

    I've recently purchased 42PW7 Plasma and pana tuner board + component board from AV sales (Great Guys) :thumbsup: however I’ve had a few problems setting it up.

    Sky --> Tivo ----> Scart RGB to Pana Tuner board (Works Fine) AV1

    PS2 ----> Scart RGB to Pana Tuner Board AV4 (works but I don’t get RGB just normal) and I have got the RGB scart for the PS2

    Pioneer DVD 575a Component (Y, Pb, Pr) to Component board in PW7. Works but I don’t get any sound. If I run it through the tuner hey presto works fine.

    Questions ?

    Why don’t I pick up any sound through the TV when using the Pioneer DVD 575a Component (Y, Pb, Pr) to component board in PW7 ?

    Why can’t I get RGB to work through PS2 ? I’ve set it up through the initial PS2 screen ?

    Would you guys recommend anything else I should consider with my current setup to improve the picture?

    And finally do I go with buying the Pana Speakers for £200 or would you guys recommend anything else. Don’t really want to go for the amp/5.1 speaker thing just left and right should do fine. They must look good on the wall though and be good quality?

    Many thanks for any help !!! :)
     
  2. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    had that too, I think you have to turn the monitor OFF and ON again after you connected the YUV - YUV directly.

    Good luck ! Oh and before I forget, buy a component cable for PS2 , its only 5 quid on ebay. Cheers!

    And don't go for the speakers, but buy some Anthony Gallo's for 100 quid each, they look ay much more cooler than the Panny's. Check my pics on the get your plasmas out for the lads how they look.
     
  3. The Gooner

    The Gooner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    NE Lincs
    Ratings:
    +44
    Im probably wrong but I didnt think Component carried sound
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK you should mix and match input boards and the media box (amazed you have picture things to note: you need to enable RGB output on most devices, Component cables dont carry sound, media box has component input, PS2 can output component (unless very old)
    5.1 AMP (thingy) may well solve more issues than it raises..........
    Canton make lovely speakers may i suggest CD50 to complete the plasma (search the forum) can add a sub for base.......
    so in summary need audio cable for DVD, set PS2 to RGB read the forum and gain loads of info........
     
  5. thegooseman

    thegooseman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Component IS for picture only and does not carry sound.
    I have an IXOS 801 scart lead, one of the best, that is cheaper than the best component leads from my dvd recorder direct to the panel(scart treminal) And everything into the dvd recorder. there is no picture difference when directly compared to the component (2 equal sources, two terminal inputs, one comp one scart, pic in pic...ect) in fact the scart was better, and carrys sound and auto switching.
    If you want to use component then I suggest you go through your recorder which (most do) will convert your signal from your playstation to rgb component, then into component terminal on your panel, and optical from the recorder to a surround or hifi system for sound.
    Alternitively do everything through the tuner. Technically there is a difference in picture quality, but not very noticable. the advantage is the inputs.
    It all depends on fexibility of your recorder.
    You may not need both terminal boards or the tuner.
    As you can tell I did a lot of research before I bought mine.

    Hope that helps. :thumbsup: :smashin:
     
  6. andy970

    andy970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys...

    thanks For all ur help! Finally got the Sound through the DVD player So Question one is sorted, Thanks for the Info for the speakers, I see a Forum member is sell CD50 for £88 each. Is it worth buying two of these to hook them up to the PW7 (Left & Right) or is that an overkill bearing in mind they are gonna be attached to the wall? and finally still can't get the RGB for the PS2 to work after trying various setting etc so is it worth buying component cable for PS2 then conecting it to pana tunner ? Is that how u have it conected Davidgilmour ?
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    2 CD50 would be great mate and if you decide to go 5.1 then it will be a very easy upgrade.....................(CD50 include wall mounts too)
     
  8. andy970

    andy970
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers HornyDragon..... The PW7 only pumps out 8 watts per Channel and the CD50 I believe can do 50 Watts. Such a shame, but hey I may upgrade later.....
     
  9. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    I haven't yet tested it myself, i need to chip my ps2 ( the pirate said :D ) but I can not imagine that it won't work. I have the cable here in my hands and it defintely should work! Btw, you will get the best PQ by using the component cable for your dvd player and 2 rca audio cables.

    Cheers!
     
  10. pioneerman

    pioneerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +62
    this might sound stupid but presumably your ps2 is set to rgb? also i found out with the media box you cant run component progressive through it and output two x rgb you can only do, component and one rgb or two rgb only. does this help?
     
  11. pioneerman

    pioneerman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,469
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +62
    sorry i just noticed you did select rgb on ps2
     

Share This Page

Loading...