1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Pulling Cables

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by ecco13, Dec 16, 2004.

1. ecco13

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Hi- I am a novice at wiring (replace switches, connect equipment, add dimmers & timer switches, know how to use a multimeter). Need some advice on how to pull wire in a difficult spot.

I have a family room multimedia cabinet built into (recessed into) the wall above my fireplace. The fireplace is a direct-vent gas, no chimney, flush with the interior family room wall, etc. Fireplace and Cabinet exist in a bump-out, meaning there is open space directly beneath the floor of the fireplace bump-out, hanging off the back of my house. The cabinet above the fireplace was built-in during construction of the home two years ago. The cabinet is wired for single outlet, plus some speaker cable which runs to surround speakers around the room (all done by the builder). In my basement, looking up directly below the fireplace, I can see where the cables go up through a small hole drilled into the wood.