1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HELP! projector/DVD player progressive scan problem!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Smurfin, Oct 1, 2002.

  1. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,736
    Not sure if this is a problem with my projector or the DVD player...so I thought I would post it in both forums!

    I have a Plus U3-1080 DLP projector (clone of the american NEC LT-150), and have today (finally) got my new DVD player - Toshiba SD510E.

    When running NTSC DVDs, I press the progressive scan button on the DVD remote....and the picture "doubles up" - i.e it's like the image has shifted half way across the screen and wrapped around onto the other side....giving me a blank bar down the middle.

    It looks bloody awful, and the picture suffers from horrible interference.

    The PJ is set to NTSC, and component (it's component via VGA, I bought the adaptor direct from NEC)....it's all wired up correctly as interlaced pictures are fine.

    So where am I going wrong?

    I've checked through the Toshiba manual and it does actually describe this effect. It suggests switching the DVD player to "video progressive" instead of auto or film.....but it hasn't changed a thing.

    Anyone come across this with either their projector or this particular DVD player?

    Would appreciate some advice.

    Cheers
    An unhappy smurf
     
  2. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    have a look for this on the avsforum because there was quite a bit said about it.

    I had a UP-880 and did a firmware upgrade for it to take progressive through component, but my model was a couple of years older than the one you have so i would have thought it would do it straight out the box.

    what lead did you have to buy ??? I just bought a 5bnc-vga.
     
  3. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,736
    The lead I bought was the NEC component-VGA adaptor.
     
  4. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    you say the projector is set to ntsc and component.

    I dont remeber having a pal/ntsc/secam setting on my plus, I am sure i just chose rgb or component have you tried putting your pc through it and choosing component ???

    see if you get any signal at all , I would get a stable image but green.

    If you get this then I would consider trying a bnc-vga cable without the adapter.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256

Share This Page

Loading...