1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by prit, May 29, 2002.

  1. prit

    prit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello....

    I am a total novice to all this stuff here. A friend of mine has left me his sony amp to look after whilst he is travelling the world.So i thought i might aswell make use of it.I dont have too much room so i was thinking of buying left&righ rear speaker and connect them to the amp.Is this worth it or am i wasting my time&money?Also can someone please tell me how do i hook my Video, TV, DVD to the amp.

    Much Appreciated.....Many thanks.
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    Hi

    What sort of amp is it?? So we know whether its a Pro-Logic amp or one with Dolby Digital etc. Then we can help you with the different connections etc

    cheers
     
  3. prit

    prit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Jase..Its Sony STRDB1070..hope this helps
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    Ok.

    Presumably you´ve already got the DVD etc hooked up to the tv.

    To really benefit from the amp you would need all 5 main speakers and a subwoofer.

    Just connect the dvd player to the amp via an Optical cable (Toslink to Toslink) or a Digital Coaxial cable. The back of the amp should have the different inputs clearly marked.

    Have a look here for cables

    www.chord.co.uk

    www.qed.co.uk

    www.hificables.co.uk

    Then connect the video via a pair of analogue (Phono) cables. You´ll also want the TV connected to the amp via a pair of these as well. Just connect them to the relevant inputs on the back of the amplifier.

    Once connected its a case of setting the amp up depending on what speakers you´ve actually got connected Fronts, Centre etc etc.

    You may find you will also need a cable from the amp to the TV to seen the amps Onscreen menus to help set up easier. Normally a composite video lead (phono) will do or an S-Video lead (if your TV has this input).
     
  5. prit

    prit
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Jase....Very Much Appreciated....
     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +833
    No problem.:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...