1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please!!!

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Pebble, May 1, 2004.

  1. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi - can ayone help please

    Every time I click on a link in the internet using Internet Explorer it dosn't take me there - just a box with the browser at the top with a blank screen underneath.If I put an adress in the browser it works- it won't take me their autimatically.
    I can't do a windows update either as it won't let me download the updates.
    I have another browser - Opera , which works ok- just Internet Explorer that seems to be giving me grief

    Thanks

    pebble
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,412
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,245
    Not sure on this, but have you got some kind of firewall software that is blocking ads & pop ups? When I tried to do a windows update it wouldn't let me and then I realised my firewall was blocking the download pop up window from coming up!

    Greg
     
  3. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi Greg

    I Uninstalled my Google pop-up software , but the problem is still there

    Thanks for your info

    Any other ideas anyone??
     
  4. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    Perhaps try uninstalling Internet Explorer, and then reinstalling (Add/ Remove Windows Components). Remember to apply all the updates after the reinstall.
     
  5. pringtef

    pringtef
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +72
    Pebble,

    There's also the possibility that there is some problem with your user profile. To see if this is the case, right click my computer, go to users and groups, create a new user, and add them into the administrators group. Log out, then login as the new user you have created, and see if things are working properly. If so, best way to proceed would be to delete the other user profile. Remember to copy internet favourites, and my documents before doing so though.
     
  6. Pebble

    Pebble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Messages:
    311
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    Ratings:
    +4
    Guys,

    cheers for the info - I managed to get it working after reinstalling it

    Thanks

    pebble
     

Share This Page

Loading...