Help please with connecting TV, V+ and Blu Ray to receiver for surround sound

garyboy

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,
Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong thread.

A newbie here and one who is not particularly clever when it comes to surround sound. I have searched your threads for an answer to my query but am still unsure about the best way to wire up my system so that I can get the benefits of surround sound from my V+ box and Blu-Ray player through my receiver.

A bit of background.

I have moved into a new house and was left 5 Shark gold-plated coax cables hanging from where their TV used to be (no scarts or hdmi's - I don't think they used hdmi cables). They left me their Yamaha HTR-5640RDS reciever which was connected to 7 speakers in the ceiling. 5 in the living room and 2 in the dining room.

I have purchased an LG 50PK590 TV and have a V+ box. I am about to purchase a Blu-Ray player but want to ensure I get one that has the correct digital output (coax or optical) dependent on my limitations before I buy one.

Anyway, I can connect my Virgin V+ and Blu Ray to the TV via HDMI but want to ensure I get the correct wiring for sound.

My TV doesn't have the digital coax out port (few do nowadays according to Currys).
I have an optical digital output port on my LG 50PK590 TV. Hooking up the Virgin Box (the V+ box has a scart if that helps any) and a Blu Ray player via HDMI is fine but I thought I would need an optical Digital cable to go from the TV to the receiver so I can get surround sound for both my cable and blu ray.

The Yamaha HTR-5640RDS receiver does not have any HDMI ports. It has one optical input (says DVD next to it but assume anything can be used in this port) and one coax input.