1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please - what equipment do i need to start out

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by stokelake, Dec 26, 2004.

1. stokelake

stokelake
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,

I've been reading through the forum and there is some great info but i'm still a little overwhelmed.

I'm just starting out and would like a dgital camcorder for about £250 which has a good picture and is easy to use. Also i'm unsure of all the accessories i will need, such as software, cable, etc. I have a pc with a usb connection but no fire wire is that gonna be a problem? The camorder i've been looking at is the Sony DCR-hc14 (£228) which i think should be good enough but its all the accessories which i think could push me way over my orginal budget.

Can you give me a list of all the equipment / softway i will need.

Many thanks,

Julian.

2. johnjackthom

johnjackthom

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +247
    If you have windows XP you have the software to get started ie Windows Movie Maker. Its not wonderful but it will import from the camcorder and allow basic editing.

Don't be tempted to transfer using the USB port as the quality is not good.

Firewire PCI cards are available for a little over £10. The one I am now using is Here and comes complete with a firewire cable for connecting the camcorder.

3. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    As above, but TBH Movie Maker will be easily good enough to get you started in video editing. It is very easy to use, but a more advanced package will also be more complicated to use and will give very few advantages. Just make sure you have all the latest MS updates and you will therefore have the update to MM2.