1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please: trying to record vhs tapes to pc using tv card??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by moomin2005, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    hey guys i have a FlyTV Prime 30 / 30FM tv card and have connected my vhs etc all together and am trying to transfer vhs tapes to my pc, now if i tune my tv channels in and find my video channel on there i can record my vhs tape (with sound) okish, but after so long the sound dosn't match the mouth movments.


    also if i click the composite button there is video (clearer than through the tv tuner) but no sound and if i select the svhs button its in black and white no sound.


    i am using a 2 scart video and a scard adapter with svhs socket and the white, red and yellow ones


    please help
     
  2. T0rNaDo

    T0rNaDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    6,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +546
    ive used a made up lead..... components from maplin.

    to connect vcr to my pc..

    using
    no loss video cable
    stereo mic audio cable.

    scart plug on end.. IE: into back of vcr...

    other end has rca plug : video...

    3.5mm stereo jack plug : stereo sound...

    works a treat !
     
  3. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    but in the back of my videos scard i have plugged in a scard adapter that have the video and sound and svhs socket on so dont think that cable will be much different,

    how to i get sound if u switch the video capture to composite

    i can only get sound

    many thanks
     
  4. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    I am a bit confused, but when you select svhs, it may be outputing an s-video signal (which is different from composite), and so may explain the black and white picture.

    I think your other problems may be caused by your software. What are you using? You could try using the virtualdub software (downloadable) to do the actual recording.

    Composite and s-video signals do not include sound, and so you need to feed the stereo outputs from the scart adaptor into your sound card (line inputs).

    If you connect using s-video, you will get a better picture quality than RF or composite.
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    In order of PQ from worst to best:

    RF
    Composite
    S-Video

    RF carries audio & video but the other 2 are video only, so as stated you need to get a feed into your soundcard. If you only have a VHS VCR then it will not output an S-Video signal, and that is why the S-Video connection/setting gives a B&W picture.

    I think you need to do the following to get a half decent result:
    plug scart adapter into VCR output scart socket.
    plug stereo phono lead into scart adaptor red & white sockets.
    connect other end of stereo phono lead into a phono to jack plug adaptor and this into the line-in on the soundcard.
    connect a composite video lead from yellow socket on scart adapter to the composite input on the PC.

    With the above connections you should get a reasonable picture & sound onto the PC. Lip sync errors may well still occur depending on how good the software & hardware are at capture.

    If you have a digital camcorder with AV-in (most don't) then you will almost certainly get better results useing this to do the analogue to digital conversion. Just connect the cam to PC via firewire and use Movie Maker 2 (part of the XP install) to do the capture & editing.
    Otherwise you need to find a friendly forum member that can do the capture for you on a video editing PC ;)

    Good luck,
    Mark.
     
  6. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    many thanks for your help guys, do u guys know what the name/s and links to the cables are that i need in order for sound using composite

    many thanks
     
  7. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
  8. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    im using a cable with the yellow red and white endds on is that ok instead of seperate ones
     
  9. MikeTV

    MikeTV
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ealing, London
    Ratings:
    +843
    In most cases - yellow is video, red is right stereo, white is left stereo.
     
  10. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    A combined cable is fine as long as the plugs can all reach the reuired sockets on the PC. As audio is going to the soundcard and video to the TV card this may not be as easy with a single cable.
    As already stated, just make sure you use the yellow plugs on the lead for composite video as the video part of the lead 'should' be different to that for audio and could therefore affect PQ.

    Mark.
     
  11. moomin2005

    moomin2005
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks have got it sorted i think but when i record and put it on dvd the picture thats plays on the tv is bad and grainy, could this be the software i am using
     
  12. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Could well be down to the software as not all MPEG encoders are equal!
    I suggest you try This as it is what I use and think the result are very good. The link is to a free 30 day trial so you can try before you buy :thumbsup:

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...