Help please Sony VTX-D800U Freeview

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by nicklang, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. nicklang

    nicklang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newport, South Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    I have just bought the above freeview box, but the output for the audio seems like a really small plug? (not the usual coaxial/fibre-optic)

    What sort of cable do I use to connect the freeview box to my amp for stereo sound? :lease:

    Thanks
     
  2. Wilf

    Wilf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    You need a mini toshlink (optical digital) adapter. Lots of toshlink cables come with the adapter. Richersounds gave me one for nowt when i bought my cable from them.
     
  3. nicklang

    nicklang
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newport, South Wales
    Ratings:
    +2
    Many thanks
    I've got an ixos mini-toslink to toslink now that works fine :thumbsup:
     
  4. LDJ

    LDJ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    Any comments on this box? is this the best freeview box available at present?


    Im thnking of buying one from Amazon
     
  5. matty2767

    matty2767
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think so
     
  6. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Currys have it for £84.90 inc delivery ;)
     
  7. LDJ

    LDJ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    its £79.99 inc at amazon.co.uk though :thumbsup:
     
  8. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    752
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    good price,i was buying one but i am now getting one for £0 :) Thanks to a Mastercare engineer wrecking my HQ100 :)
     
  9. Brolac

    Brolac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm thinking of getting one of these babies, only I just read a review that they need a card slot in order to update for reception on certain channels.

    Do you guys think think this matters on the whole?
     
  10. Wilf

    Wilf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +6
    The card sot some machines have is for TOPUP TV channels. Pick a compatible box if you think your going to want to subscribe to this. The Sony does not have one. Not worth £7.99 a month IMO. All other channels are fine and regular software updates are done on-air from BBC1
     
  11. LDJ

    LDJ
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    yep. i wont ever be going near TUTV, so thats not an issue for me.
    just placed an order for this box from Amazon
     
  12. Brolac

    Brolac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the comments on this side issue guys

    Good here innit:thumbsup:
     
  13. adrianl

    adrianl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use the 800U box to feed Viera in preference to built-in dvb tuner. Picture quality identical but the Viera epg is pretty terrible in interface/legibility terms and channel change is slower. The Sony box is really excellent and one of the great bargains in AV at the moment in my opinion.
     

Share This Page

Loading...