1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help please re weak centre speaker in KEF 2005.2

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by yarand, Oct 4, 2004.

1. yarand

yarand
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    As a recent purchaser of the KEF 2005.2 system, linked with a Yamaha DSPAX750, the system works brilliantly re sound effects (Independence Day, LOTR etc), but the centre satellite does seem to struggle with clarity of speech when there are other sounds (e.g. music) from the other satellites - speech is a bit muffled. I have tried increasing the centre satellite output but the problem is not really solved.
    Could this simply be a case of having to adjust the KEF sub-woofer crossover etc? I am a novice in the latter field and KEF's own documentation is less than helpful here.

2. SKA.face

SKA.face

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to say I had Kefs eggs,well overated, had them less than a year and sold them on,sound no better than the TV speaker,nice looks shame about the sound I found,rear effects were OK,front 3 were dire!

3. fuzzybee

fuzzybee
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +72
    I had the 2005.2 package for about 11 months and simply couldn't live with them any longer, the center channel is indeed the weak link.
    I bought them on a whim last year as all the reviews were very posative but in my opinion the 2005.2 package is the most overrated speaker package on the market.
    I have in the last couple of months upgraded to the Monitor Audio Radius range of speakers and the difference is remarkable. Even the wife comments on it all the time so it must be true :smashin:

4. inzaman

inzaman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +929