Answered Help Please - Complete novice Female (59!)

Discussion in 'VR Virtual Reality Forum' started by sallyjolli, Aug 12, 2018.

1. sallyjolli

sallyjolli
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry to get so basic, but I quite fancy getting a VR Headset - I don't game but have heard that you can look around the bottom of the ocean or 'walk through' a European city.
    The only kit I have is a PC, MAC, a TV and iphone. Can you suggest a basic headset for this purpose, if I can use it with one of these and how I go about this and what else I need? Any help gratefully received. Thanks

2. Best Answer:
    Post #18 by sallyjolli, Aug 18, 2018 (1 points)
  3. peterloef

peterloef
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Sally,

Yes, VR is awesome! :) What kind of headset would be best for you, depends on how powerful your pc is. The headsets you can do the most with at the moment (HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, Windows Mixed Reality headsets) require pretty high spec pc's. We're talking a GTX 970 or better, GTX 1060 or better graphics card, and a high end Intel Core i5 or better, no older than about two, maybe three years. So what are the specs on your pc?

You can also put an iPhone in a viewer type of headset. This doesn't provide anywhere near the experience the above mentioned headsets do, but it gives an idea of what VR is like. You would need a relatively new iPhone for a smooth experience though. If your pc isn't powerful enough, this could be an option of course.

Macs can't do VR at all at the moment. Well, maybe in a virtual machine, if you could pass through the video card, but I believe that's not that simple. Let's just say your Mac can't do VR at the moment. And a tv doesn't help either I'm afraid.

So, what are the specs on your pc?

4. sallyjolli

sallyjolli
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Peter,