1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help please!! beginer with a budget of 2k..

Discussion in 'TVs' started by davei, Mar 6, 2005.

1. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello,

:lease:
    I am new to buying dlp's, plasmas etc so I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice?

I have a budget of 2k and there are 3 sets i have seen and like:

1)Sony KE42TS2 42" plasma (on offer in a shop for 2k as it is the last one - but i believe it usually retails for more??)
    2) sagem axium 50" dlp rear projection
    3) JVC GMV42 (on offer in r sounds for 1.5k including feet and speakers)

It will be connected to sky plus digital and either a new home cinema system or hi fi speakers

I know the axium is hdtv ready - and the sony isnt. I dont know about the JVC. Obviously it would be nice to get this one and save 500 pounds, but i still want the best for my money.

could anyone give me any advice? thanks v much!!

dave

2. Les

Les
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Check out the Toshiba DLP models also. The 52" is about £1850 ish depending on where you look. I have one and have had none of the commonly reported problems such as screen door, rainbows, oil pintings, sparkly pictures. I use it mostly for Sky and DVD's - pictures all good.

3. davei

davei

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that, going to comet later so will have a look at the tosh then.

so would you opt for dlp before plasma then? The only problem i seem to think with the a lot of the dlp sets is the viewing angle and the darkness of the screen when you move to certain angles. as my front room is pretty big this could be an issue....

4. mistycat

mistycat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0