1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Please! Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Rick1486, Feb 22, 2003.

1. Rick1486

Rick1486
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - first of all I confess I'm a newbie to the projector scene and so I apologize for my ignorance.
    The wife has (thankfully) agreed with me that she too would love to have a projector in our living room! We would like it to replace our Sony widescreen t.v. as our main viewing platform for tv, dvd and Sky. I'd also like to use it to play p.c. games if we do go with a p.c. driven setup.
    We saw the HS10 demo'd at our local Powerhouse in the Sony concession and were v. impressed - they had it hooked up to a VAIO p.c. and were extoling the virtues of using the p.c. as a tv receiver, TIVO replacement and dvd platform.
    We would want to keep our new jvc dvd player and our sky (pace) box and perhaps i'd build or buy a bespoke p.c. to allow this in our living room - size 15ft. long x 13ft. wide. The wall I'm thinking of projecting onto has a dado rail and to view above this I reckon I'll be looking at a piccie approx. 5ft. wide x 4ft. high which is plenty big enough for our needs.
    I've perused the threads, read reviews etc. and am thinking of either the Panasonic AE300 or the Sony HS10.
    So what do I want from you lot?
    1. Which projector do you recommend?
    2. Would you go with the p.c. idea and if so what components would you be looking at including and why.
    3. What accessories (e.g. cables/peripherals etc.) would be required.
    All help and any advice is much appreciated.
    Estimated budget is 2k ish for the pj and approx £6-700 for the p.c. - will be more if I decide to sell my pristine 2001 gsx-r with 1700 miles, d/bubble, mucho alarms, and blue flame 3d carbon oval race can.
    Cheers
    Rick