1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help! Pio 502MXE keeps cutting out.....

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by BruceG, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. BruceG

    BruceG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm after some help, solving a VERY frustrating problem with my Pioneer 502MXE plasma screen.

    Recently (the last 7 days or so) the plasma will persistently switch itself off a few minutes after turning it on from cold. It goes into something beyond "Standby", as I cannot turn it on again by just using the remote. I have to unplug it and wait a couple of minutes, then plug the mains back in again. I have to do this 3, 4 or even 5 times before it decides it wants to work "normally", which it will continue to do so, for many hours after this.

    Any ideas what could be causing this?

    And yes, I have :rtfm: - it's not covered in there!
     
  2. BruceG

    BruceG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    BUMP!



    Could this be a static build-up in the display? :lease:
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,528
    BruceG

    More likely a faulty power supply - when it goes into Standby does the power led flash in any discernable pattern; certain 'flash' patterns give an engineer a basic idea of what's wrong.

    Your best bet is to contact Pioneer's UK Service agent and negotiate a price for a Repair or Service call - see http://www.bemac.co.uk

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. BruceG

    BruceG
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok,

    Plasma screen finally went "POP!" at the weekend......

    So how much should a PSU for a 502MXE cost? And how much to fit it?

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  5. MC Hammer

    MC Hammer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    588
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    Think there was another one that went pop the other day.

    There is a thread about it somewhere & think it was a 43MXE ?

    He had the thing 16 Months & his warrenty had obviously closed out.

    He was quoted £500 for a new one but after talking to Pioneer directly or through his supplier, he got it for nothing but had to pay for the labour to fit it.

    I suppose it depends how long you have had it etc ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...