help picture rolls in pal not ntsc

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by crtbob, Sep 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crtbob

    crtbob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi

    i have a problem with my setup some where, in that the picture on a pal dvd rolls down the screen but not on an ntsc dvd

    set up as below

    sony 1270qm - rgbhv input
    extron 202xi - feeding rgbhv to projector
    quadscan pro - component input - in either triple tv or XGA
    pioneer dv-05 elite - component out

    the picture is superb in ntsc the pal looks good but is rolling down screen

    thanks

    Mark
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,059
  3. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    Sound like a sync problem rather than a projector issue.

    there is a sync sensitivity setting in the service menu of the sony which might be worth trying
     
  4. crtbob

    crtbob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon yes it is a modded us version

    Roland how do i get to this setting, is it throught service man where i converged the projector, as i dont find nothing there

    thanks for the help

    Mark
     
  5. Roland @ B4

    Roland @ B4
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2001
    Messages:
    2,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading.
    Ratings:
    +32
    I'm doing this from memory.
    Press and hold the test button when asked answer yes.
    Scrol down to either input settings or source settings its in there.
     
  6. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,059
    I think that perhaps the Elite is converting PAL to NTSC at 50Hz and that the Quadscan is not capable of recognising such a signal.

    I'll go an look on my 1292 how to change sync from fast to slow etc...

    Gordon
     
  7. crtbob

    crtbob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i cannot find any settings to do with inputs / signals / sync in
    the 1270 setup menus at all.

    i have tried every setting on the extron 202 but still have no luck.

    i appreciate the help from you both

    thank you

    Mark
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,059
    Get projector remote and press "page" then press it again. You should now see the sync settings...if not it may be on next page. Either way, use down arrow to go to them adn move across seeing what happens. I'm pretty sure it won't help though as it does seem like a Quadscan/DVD player issue. I presume that PAL material from a VCR or SKY is fine?

    Gordon
     
  9. crtbob

    crtbob
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon when i'm on that page it says not applicable when i scroll dwn i cannot change anything.

    i have also tried a uk player and i get the same results
     
  10. Maukka

    Maukka
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1270 doesn't have the possibility to change the sync settings. 1272 does (and maybe 1271 too).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice