1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - picture delay when gaming with projector

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by loftfuton, Aug 27, 2004.

  1. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Chaps

    Some advice please.

    Playing Far Cry through Sony VPL-VW10HT projector fed by RGB analogue output from the DVI-I connector of a Radeon 9800pro card. Stacks of RAM and 3.4 processor.

    Somewhere along the line I am getting a delay of about .25 sec between moving the mouse and the cooresponding picture move which makes me easy meat for the Trygens.

    Anyone else having problems like this ??? is the delay in the DVI-I output (although it is the analogue signal I am using) ???, or the projector processing ????....or anywhere else ????

    Thanks

    Harry
     
  2. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +35
    not using a wireless keyboard are you?
     
  3. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Am actually, the fast Logitec one whose name escapes me (700 perhaps ??), but even used close to the base station there is still the delay. I had heard that this mouse was good for gaming ??
     
  4. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +35
    All cordless solutions have a delay, best get yourself a keyboard and mouse with a usb extension cable or something.

    BTW anoying isnt it
     
  5. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +430
    Nope - most modern wireless mice and keyboards update at the same rate as usb - certainly shouldn't be 1/4 of a second.
    Although I don't use it all the time for gameing, I have a Logitec mx700 mouse and there is no delay ( perceptable ) in mouse movement to cursor.
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +35
    Well I have that one too, it is very noticable as it is on all cordless mice, plugin a wired keyboard to find out for yourself.

    Why do you think they dont recommend wireless keyboard & mice for gaming on Quake/Unreal/Half Life style sites?
     
  7. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +430
    THERE IS NO NOTICEABLE DELAY on Logitec mx700's ... and afiak the same goes for all the recent models for most manufacturers.

    The data is sampled as FAST as if not FASTER than USB frequency on the latest wireless mice.
    So it can be a QUICKER response than a CORDED USB MOUSE.

    I sugguest either upgradeing your hardware or checking your system drivers - as there appears to be an issue with your computer.
    Also read the instructions - there may well be settings for your mouse such as
    - enhance accuracy
    - mouse speed

    etc that you need to adjust to attain a properly functioning mouse for your needs.

    NOTE: the logitec mx700 samples and adjusts movement 30 times within 1/4 of a second - even old wireless mice do it 15 times in that period.
     
  8. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    39,018
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +6,184
    I have a mate who played CS on a number of severs and was number one player on them and he used a MX 700 cordless mouse. If there was any delay he would have not attained such lofty positions.

    I too have a MX 700 and there is no perceivable delay on it at all.
     
  9. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    I play COD with the logitech wireless mouse and keyboard with no problems at all. Make sure you are within range and it should all be fine. When I'm playing on the projecter I move my mouse docker (which is also the signal) closer to where I am sitting and that seems to work fine.

    CaM
     
  10. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for all your replies. I have gone along the route of the physical placement of the receiver to optimise the signal - Logitech even suggested angling the docking station away from the vertical, which in some instances they say improves the signal reception, and I think laying the unit on the desk horizontally may have helped a little, but not enough . Will check software upgrades and compatability now as suggested.

    Thanks again

    Harry
     
  11. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    26,243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,940
    loftfuton

    Do you get the same delay if you use a local monitor rather than the projector? Its not unknown for a Display device (plasma or projector) to add Video Processing time to a PC signal.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  12. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Joe

    Everything seems fine on the crt monitor I use. Have sent questions to both the video card manufacturer, and Sony for the projector, so perhaps something might come from that.

    Thanks

    Harry
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    26,243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,940
    loftfuton

    What signal are you sending to the projector - if its equivalent to a video signal 480P, 720P etc the Projector may be adding extra processing to the signal; switch as many 'filters' on the Sony off as you can..

    Also try altering the signal to different resolutions and see what happens.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  14. loftfuton

    loftfuton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Messages:
    93
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    BELFAST
    Ratings:
    +2
    Joe

    Dropped the signal resolution down and that solved the problem !! Had altered this before but obviousley not by enough.

    Thanks for that

    Harry
     
  15. Ethics Gradient

    Ethics Gradient
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    3,680
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    aka Billy Science - Suni ojna Tas
    Ratings:
    +430
    Just an ironic side note about your Sig

    ...... its ASCii ;)
     
  16. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,099

    and the binary one is funnier :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...