Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

help panasonic S97EBS

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by compo, Feb 25, 2005.

  1. compo

    compo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just bought a panasonic S97EBS to go with my th42pe30 it is not multi region does anybody have a firmware disc or know of a hack so that i can make it multiregion or point me in the right direction to someone who will upgrade it also is my plasma capable of displaying hdmi pictures
     
  2. TonyA

    TonyA
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Why didn't you just buy a multi-region player?

    webelectricals.com do the S97 as a multi-region for £219

    T.
     
  3. Loada

    Loada
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +51
    TonyA: That's a pointless reply, isn't it? He's already bought the non-multi-region player, that's why he's here.

    compo: You'll be pleased to know you can multi-region your player but it will involve getting hold of the service remote control. If you're lucky, and you know a Panasonic Repair guy, that's one way but the easier way for you, I'd guess, is to go here and get the disposal remote, should cost you £20. I believe other people have successfully used these in the past, you may wish to search the forum (or at least contact DVD Chips before you order and check what it does and what your comeback is).

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
  5. compo

    compo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    will wait to see how u get on with your remote then may try one myself thanks
     
  6. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    compo...i used one of these from dvd chips for my panny dmr e55...it worked fine and was very easy to do ...just really a case of pointig it at your machine and then turning it off and on again....you get easy instructions on their web site so just print them out, follow them to the letter and you will be fine. Have subsequently ordered R1 dvds from playusa.com and they work a treat.......
     
  7. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    hi compo arrived this morning was a total breze to do only takes a couple of minutes !1
    i wonder if it will do more than one machine if so i am willing to post it on to you and if it works would you split the difference?

    jason
     
  8. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    it will only do the one machine
     
  9. jason t

    jason t
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    kent
    Ratings:
    +38
    has anybody confirmed this though??

    jason
     
  10. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    well try it now...put the battery back in and the light wont come on.....you would need to know how to reprogram it as obvioulsy dvd clicks use them again else they wouldn't send you a freepost address for returning them......for £20 its hardly worth the hassle
     
  11. compo

    compo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks lads i spoke to staff at westgate av in bradford i have bought a lot of stuff from them in the past and always had good service gave them a ring today and askes if they could do it for me they said they would do it for £20 quid so i guess i am taking it there
     
  12. xavk1

    xavk1
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Guys,

    Just for the record, I used DVDchips one use only remote for the S97 and it worked a treat. Remained region free through a self adminstered firmware upgrade too!

    Xav
     
  13. Dave1112

    Dave1112
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    how about a Panasonic DMR E55EBS DVD Recorder. They look like the real deal... Read the reviews, all pritty decent...
    Just curious about how long dvds actually last??
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice