Help !! - Panasonic GS120

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by DeanE, Sep 30, 2004.

  1. DeanE

    DeanE
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,680
    Hello,

    I've just purchased a Panasonic GS120 after hearing the comments from people here and I've just recorded some stuff and want to transfer that to my PC. The DV-Studio software bundled with the camera seems to only allow me to capture a single frame from the tape.

    Sorry for the silly question, but how do I capture the entire thing and make an Mpeg/Avi etc .. ?

    Thanks for your help.

    Dean.
     
  2. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. vallhall

    vallhall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    195
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +16
    you have to buy you fireware cabel
     
  4. DeanE

    DeanE
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,680
    Thanks for your replies .. I'll get hold of a Firewire cable tomorrow, and I've got a firewire socket in my laptop so that's good news.

    I take it I will require different software to capture the video then ? Do you know if Vegas Video will be okay to use ?

    Thanks again,
    Dean.
     
  5. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are capturing to a laptop then you may well need a 4 pin to 4 pin firewire cable instaed of the more normal 6 pin to 4 pin for a PC.

    Sony Vegas is an excellent capture and editing programme but some say a little complicated for a beginner and most say it's quite expensive - but if you already have it - give it a go.

    But if you are going to buy the Pinnacle Studio 9 and Ulead VideoStudio 8 are both good packages at reasonable cost.
     
  6. DeanE

    DeanE
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,680
    Thanks for your help Beejaycee !!

    Cheers,
    Dean.
     
  7. lurcher

    lurcher
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stalybridge
    Ratings:
    +221
    Dean,
    If you have got XP then you can use the Windows Movie Maker to capture dv.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice