Help: Options for 2nd TV.

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by BB3Lions, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,599
    I've used the search but results albeit are similar are some 2+ years old and one goes back to 2004' I'm hoping technology may of moved forward since then.

    I've ran a UHF cable from the downstairs TV using a junction box up and out to the upstairs bedroom, and there is limited signal. However if i unplug the cable i get a better picture. As i am pretty close to Winter Hill i guess thats the reason.

    Anyway, a new TV beckons and i need a good signal to put freeview upstairs.

    I have a standard TV aerial attached to the chimney breast, runs over the roof then down behind the cladding we had done :cool: this makes it impossible to gain access too to be able to use an external splitter, unless its fitted on the actual roof - open to all the elements...

    So.. I'm in need of some advice please.

    My info.

    12 miles from Winter Hill NW England.
    Old type - not been changed in i'd guess 10+ years aerial.


    Options,

    Replace the original cable, run this into the attic, use a splitter add one to the new TV and re-join the existing cable. (will need to pay someone to do that).

    Cut the existing cable and put a splitter in a waterproof container and put this on the roof.

    Use an internal aerial and put this in the attic, run the cable 2m into the TV directly.


    Advice welcomed.



    BB
     
  2. Rodders53

    Rodders53
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,836
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +852
    No. RF technology is the same today as it has been for many, many years.

    Read up Planning Your TV Installation and the associated pages on that site... all good stuff.

    A 'junction box' sounds wrong... you need a UHF splitter to do this properly. Just joining cables together will cause problems. If a low-loss splitter has been used, with decent cable, then a amplified splitter (or distribution amplifier) should make up for the additional cable loss to the bedroom. {Assuming all connections have been made off properly and there's no stray whisker of outer shorting to the inner}
    May be the easiest. A proper external aerial though.

    If you want to try a room aerial then by all means do so in the room so you can adjust it when needed.
     
  3. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,599
    Hi Rodders,

    Cheers mate. I phoned local aerial Co, £55 minimum charge for the cable, not inc additionals. I'm in the wrong business!

    An outdoor aerial in the attic will do, you think? Hi gain or standard??


    I'm out at the moment so I've got a chance of grabbing one now

    Will read the link after.


    BB
     
  4. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,599
    I can read the link, geesh a lot of info..
     
  5. BB3Lions

    BB3Lions
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,599
    I'm nipping into there store & picking up a new indoor aerial tomorrow.

    Cheers Rodders.

    BB
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice