1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help........One confused MCE newbie here ;o(

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by smokey182, Oct 26, 2005.

1. smokey182

smokey182

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Right, I have been reading up on MCE and want to take the plunge but dont know the best way to go about it and have been advised by a close friend to ask on here as your a helpful bunch

Right heres what I have got

Sony Vaio FS315b Laptop
    Home built very high spec PC in the office (AMD FX55 CPU, 2 x 300GB Maxtor HDD, 2gb memory, 2 x 256mb 6800GT Ultra's, WIFI card & Asus MOBO)
    Denon Hifi in living room
    Sony Wega wide screen TV soon to be replaced with a 42" Plasma
    Sky+ box in living room
    Multi room box in Bedroom
    Cat 5 cabling in every room in the house
    Linksys 4 port router

What hardware do I need to link everything together

I have been looking at the airport extreme or airport express but these dont look good enough for what I want so I would like to go MCE in the living room.

Any help much appreciated as I would like to get this all set up over the coming weekend

Thanks in advance

Smokey

2. lisag

lisag

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +296
    If you want MCE you need to install it as an O/S on your existing laptop/desktop, you can either then have that live in the lounge, or use an extender device (more about this later) in the lounge, running from the MCE machine. Or build a new lounge friendly MCE machine.

MCE requires a supported graphics card (6800gt is fine) a supported tv card, and a supported dvd codec, along with some drivers and other tweaks that we can help you with later.

So, do you want the MCE machine to live in the lounge, or do you want to look at an extender? The existing Cat5 cable and router will make all of this fairly straightforward.

lisa

3. smokey182