1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

help on conecting to a Z1

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by RobTi, Dec 19, 2003.

  1. RobTi

    RobTi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +106
    just got my Z1 and am confused about which connections to use for viewing.
    I have the following

    dvd with comonent out
    laserdisc with either rgb scart or svhs
    tivo with rgb scart.
    i assume the dvd with the coponent out but the others i need help with.
    Thanks
    :confused:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    do you have an AMP with YUV switching?
    If so get an RGB>YUV converter for Tivo and LD or an RGB>S-video and do the same.
     
  3. RobTi

    RobTi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +106
    no amp only has composite switching so stuck i didnt know if i could convert the rgb to yuv and have the 3 split into 1 cable going to pj
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    go for RGB>S-video then you must have run more cables!!! If not then that is a little silly every connection on the PJ should have a cable running back to equiment!
    I guess your gonna need a component switching unit.
     
  5. RobTi

    RobTi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +106
    any recomendations for a switching unit?
    Thanks
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have a search loads of info on here and some in gaming forums
     
  7. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,534
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Check the maplin catalogue. They do a B-Tech audio/video switching unit (3 in, 1 out). I used one for a while and it was excellent. Only meant for composite video and L/R audio but worked a treat for component. It has a manual switch to select the input but I opened it up and with a bit of soldering bypassed the switch so wahtever was fed in was passed out.

    Cost £15 IIRC.
     

Share This Page

Loading...