Help: No sound over HDMI - Sony STR-DH800 AV receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Exogenic, Jan 11, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Exogenic

    Exogenic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there, I've scoured Google and have no where else to turn.

    My house's Sony receiver will not output sound over HDMI. I get picture just fine, but there's no sound. Currently my workaround when playing media off of a laptop is to use a Y-cable into Video 2 and a VGA cable directly into my Mitsubishi HC3800 projector (bypassing the receiver). This works well enough, but it's very inelegant and of poorer quality. Analog output works fine with audio and video. There is also no sound when hooked up to my HD tuner. The HDMI cable is 1.3 category 2 rated.

    I've tried changing the HDMI AUDIO OUT setting to TV+AMP and AMP but to no avail. I also notice the speaker indicator lights on the receiver's LCD panel light up for the other input selections (Video 1, Video 2, BD, SAT, etc.) but not for the four HDMI inputs.

    Can someone help me? I've been troubleshooting this for hours.

    Thank you for your help!
     
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,503
    The first thing I would check is that the Audio Input mode is set to Auto and not Analog.
     
  3. Exogenic

    Exogenic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Each input has it's own setting, auto or analog, all of which I've changed to auto. You can't change the audio input on the HDMI connections, since they're digital by nature.
     
  4. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    9,894
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,503
    Are you sure your laptop's HDMI output is audio-enabled and correctly configured (including combination audio/video driver) and is not just DVI over HDMI?
     
  5. Exogenic

    Exogenic
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone, I've discovered the sound actually was working with the HD tuner, just not with my laptop or the HTPC. I'm confident this is just a driver issue now, thanks for all your help guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice