1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help Newbie - Choosing Hi-Fi System

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by bodgie316, Jun 1, 2004.

1. bodgie316

bodgie316

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi im new to this Hi-Fi Stuff and i was wondering which of these 3 hi-fi systems would you choose and why, and if possible could you please explain some of the features of each as i dont know what they mean.

These are the 3:
    1) Sony MHCRG440 - 3cd, 100Wx2 + 100W subwoofer mini system
    2) Panasonic SC-AK520 - 5cd, MP3, 65Wx2 (high range) + 65Wx2 (low range) + 160W Subwoofer mini system
    3) Phillips FWM779 - 5cd, MP#, 2x250W mini system

Hope you can help, any assistance is appreciated
    Respond either here or to my email stephen_bradley@iinet.com.au
    If you need links to product just check manufacturers sites (www.sony.com.au www.panasonic.com.au and www.phillips.com.au

2. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +110
    Hmmm...hifi systems? Not exactly hifi, but everyone has to start somewhere, so why not with a midi setup. Those three machines are all-in-one CD/Radio setups for playing music. I suspect the Sony has the best sound, but the (very ugly IMO) Panasonic would probably go loudest. All do the job they were made for.

Explain the features? Sony has 3 CD changer, the other two are 5 CD changers. Forget about the Power ratings, they are inflated and meaningless in this context. Just check out the one which has the correct mix of CD/Radio/Tape/Minidisk for your listening pleasure and go for it. :)

3. vizslaraner

vizslaraner
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ah, my first hi-fi . . . Garrard turntable, Eagle amplifier, Wharfdale Linton speakers . . . Oh to be 16 again. But enough of my reminiscing.