Help. New Cartridge too heavy

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by JohnProton, Sep 3, 2018.

1. JohnProton

JohnProton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    I have recently bought a new cartridge. I bought the Dynavector Karat 17DX Dynavector DV Karat 17DX Moving Coil Cartridge - HiFi Corner instead of the previous Karat 17D3 which was a lot lighter problem is its a lot heavier. it weighs 11g and the previous one was 5.3g main reason is the new one is made of solid brass where the previous one was coated metal and plastic. I bought it for my Clearaudio concept. any ideas what i should do, is there a heavier weight or does anyone know which tonearm I should get for my clearaudio for an 11g cartridge? Any arms that would go on that would be good to go fo that weight, any advice at all. I'm really new with this. Ive had my turntable since 2003 and had three cartridges now but never have I had a cartridge that was too heavy, I know I should have gone for the previous model for the tonearm I have which is the verify arm, the one that comes with the clearaudio by default when you buy it.

2. Deleted member 781788

Deleted member 781788

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I take it that your arm will not balance with the new heavy cartridge.
    Find a few metal washer with the centre hole the same size as the arm tube (or slightly bigger), slide them in and use carpet tape to stick them to the counter weight, use one at a time until you get your balance.
    To make sure you don't use too many, push the counter weight as far back as it goes.
    It should not affect the sound quality, provided you don't do a wobbly job.
    paint the washers black if you want to.

3. JohnProton

JohnProton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,294
    Thanks. I'd thought about buying another weight from clearaudio to see if that would work but they are quite expensive

4. JohnProton