1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help - Netgear MP101 & Firewalls!!!

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by witters, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    12,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +291
    I have installed my MP101 and it works great without a firewall in place. As soon as I run either my Sygate or Windows firewall it stops recognising the server.

    Can anyone help please?
     
  2. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,842
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,205
    Whats the address of the MP101? Once you've found it, set it up as a special rule in Sygate.
     
  3. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    12,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +291
    I've managed to get it working and it recognises the server. Problem now is that I get drop-outs when it's playing music files.

    Any ideas please? I've downloaded the latest software/firmware.
     
  4. ukaudiophile

    ukaudiophile
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    452
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +62
    Hi,

    Yes, I tried this unit and had exactly the same problem. It seems to have a real problem with maintaining it's throughput. I eventually returned mine and bought a Buffalo WLI-TX1-G54, as I run 802.11g, and this was massively better. greater signal strength, far faster and no dropouts even when playing uncompressed .WAV's. I retuned mine on the basis that the MP101 could not work on a network where the SSID is hidden (which it can't and there is no firmware upgrade to fix this), therefore it compromised my system security. I bought it from PC World, and this explanation pretty much short circuited the brain of the sales drone and they instantly gave me a refund.

    Sorry I can't be more help, but in my experience, the MP101 is a real dog and should be avoided at all costs for audio streaming.

    Best wishes,

    Dave
     
  5. witters

    witters
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    12,615
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +291
    Thanks fellas - I have sold mine on as it just wasn't up to the task.
     

Share This Page

Loading...