1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help needed !!??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by DM 73, May 10, 2005.

  1. DM 73

    DM 73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +122
    i have the denon dvd 2900 and need to know the best way to hook it up to my amp(yam rxv-2400) to listen to dvd-audio's and SACD's
     
  2. Andy_Lee

    Andy_Lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Telford Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    First off could you let us know what amp you are connecting to. As this may affect what recommendations we may make.
     
  3. DM 73

    DM 73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +122
    Its a yamaha rxv-2400
     
  4. Andy_Lee

    Andy_Lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Telford Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant see any input for 6 channel analog input reading the manual from the website however there appear to be some inputs in the illustration that are not labeled which maybe them. Use them if possible if not you will have to use a digital input. As I understand it DVD Audio will be recoded to a PCM mix.
     
  5. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    The only way to get SACD out of anything at the moment is IEEE and analogue. So i suggest you find the multi channel analogue in, provided it has them.
     
  6. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    You should have a group of phono inputs on the bottom left of your amp (looking from the rear) labelled MULTI CH INPUT. There should be 6 of them. They will be labelled FL, FR SL SR, centre and sub woofer. This should correspond to the outputs at the back of your player. Get a 5.1 cable or 3 pairs of matched phono cables and connect up. Set you amp to Multi CH Input and it should work.
     
  7. DM 73

    DM 73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +122
    Thanks for all the help,i did have the dvd connected to the amp with 6 phono leads but for some reason when i listen to sacd's there was no sound coming out of the sub and the place where i bought my kit from said i should use coax or optical from the dvd to the amp and let the amp decode it but checking with other stores this seems to be wrong so i'm not sure what to do next!!
    :lease:
     
  8. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The Denon should be set up and told how to treat multichannel media. However I only have DVD Audio (previous player was Panasonic) and I know my 2910 treats the 2 different mutichannel sources differently. Have you followed the 2900's instructions on SACD playback?
     
  9. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Be carful I have had SACDs labelled as 5.1 but they do not have a centre of LFE channel. Also in the 2900s setup you can adjust the sub level output. Also set all the speakers to small, just incase the LFE channel becomes mixed in with any channels set as Large.
     
  10. DM 73

    DM 73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +122
    Thanks E B, I'll give that a try :smashin:
     
  11. Andy_Lee

    Andy_Lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Telford Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Indeed I have a couple of SACD's that are just the original Quad mix from the 70's with no LFE or centre channel. Tubular Bells is one that springs to mind straight away. Also Deep Purple Live at the BBC but I can't remember if that is DVD A or SACD
     
  12. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yep i found it on some classical discs. No one is safe! :eek: The problem is the disc states 5.1, the player shows it as 5.1 but as time goes on i notice the sub has turned itself off and has i move round the room no centre.
     

Share This Page

Loading...